I’m a longtime fan of Alana Chernila’s blog: Eating from the Ground Up. I adore the way she weaves together tales of food and family, and I was thrilled tp learn she was writing a cookbook. I knew it was going to be special.

Within moments of opening The Homemade Pantry: 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making, I gave in to the fact that I wouldn’t be putting it down for the rest of the day: I read it cover to cover. The book made me smile many times, and it also made me cry. But most of all, it made me want to cook the kinds of things I haven’t been making time for lately: recipes that require slowing down…and making a mess.

Alana’s got you covered with recipes for everything from homemade dairy products (ex. ricotta and cream cheese) to condiments (ex. ketchup and mustard) to frozen foods (ex. pizza and fish sticks) to candy and sweet treats (ex. peanut butter cups and fig bars). So far I have made the lemonade, the cornbread, the hamburger buns, and the vanilla pudding (seen in my photos here).

Everything’s been delicious, and I have MANY other recipes tagged to try soon: I am particularly looking forward to Alana’s lasagna because it’s a compilation of homemade tomato sauce, homemade ricotta and mozzarella cheeses, and homemade fresh pasta (the recipes for which are all in the book).

Alana’s recipes are creative, fun, nostalgic, and wholesome, and Jennifer May did a beautiful job with the numerous shots of food that simply beg to be eaten (as well as the sweet glimpses into Alana’s kitchen and family life). But it’s the essays accompanying each recipe that really sealed the deal for me. Longer than typical recipe headnotes, and each more beautifully written than the one before (if that’s possible), these stories make the book shine.

I cannot imagine anyone not falling head over heels in love with The Homemade Pantry, so I am pleased to let you know that the folks at Clarkson Potter have generously offered to give not 1…not 2…but 3 COPIES of The Homemade Pantry to readers of my blog. How awesome is that?! Please scroll down past the pudding recipe for the giveaway details :)

Vanilla Pudding from The Homemade Pantry

Yield: serves 6-7

I've always loved pudding but I don't make it very often. Alana's recipe is simple and perfect, and my kids and I kind of went crazy for it. Make sure to try it topped with fresh berries.

Ingredients:

*4 cups whole milk (I used raw milk)
*1/2 cup sugar (I used organic sugar)
*1/4 teaspoon salt (I used sea salt)
*1 vanilla bean, or 1 tablespoon store-bought of homemade vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean)
*1/2 cup cornstarch (I used organic cornstarch)

Directions:

1. Combine 3 cups of the milk with the sugar and salt in a heavy-bottomed medium saucepan and set it over medium-low heat. If you are using the vanilla bean, scrape out the seeds, put them in the milk, and add the whole bean heat until just steaming, stirring frequently.

2. In a small bowl or measuring cup, combine the cornstarch with the remaining 1 cup of milk. Stir well until the mixture is fairly lump free. Take the vanilla bean out of the pot and rinse it off. (Don't discard it- shove it into your homemade Vanilla Extract). Raise the heat to medium-high. Add the cornstarch mixture and cook, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until the mixture just starts to bubble. Reduce the heat to low and stir continuously until the mixture thickens to somewhat look like pudding and coats the back of a spoon, 5-7 minutes. Add vanilla extract, if using. If the pudding us a bit watery, it's okay. It will thicken further as it chills.

3. Pour the pudding into individual dishes and chill for at least 3 hours before serving. If you have an aversion to pudding skin, press plastic wrap against the surface.

Reprinted with permission from The Homemade Pantry: 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making by Alana Chernila. Photographs by Jennifer May. Copyright 2012 by Clarkson Potter.

If you’d like to win 1 of 3 copies of The Homemade Pantry, please leave a comment below before Tuesday, April 17, 2012 at midnight EST. I will pick a winner via random.org sometime on Wednesday, April 18th, 2012. This giveaway is only open to US residents and I must have your email in order to notify you if you win. Good luck!

 

546 Comments

  1. 1

    Brian @ A Thought For Food — April 11, 2012 @ 1:18 pm

    After seeing this recipe, I DEFINITELY want to win a copy! I made my first custard this week and had a blast doing it. Now, I just want to eat a big bowl of it with some fresh blackberries on top.

  2. 2

    Katherine Jenson — April 11, 2012 @ 1:25 pm

    I would love, love, love to win a copy of this cook book! I am making changes in my lifestyle to return my health…and that means….no more packaged foods! This looks like a wonderful resource! The fact that is has this wonderful pudding recipe in it….well…who wouldn’t want one!

  3. 3

    Anastasia Campos — April 11, 2012 @ 1:28 pm

    Oh oh, pick me, pick me! :):)

  4. 4

    Teresa — April 11, 2012 @ 1:30 pm

    This book sounds great!

  5. 5

    Katrina Hall — April 11, 2012 @ 1:42 pm

    Ohhh man – this sounds like a book I would also love! (and your photos of the pudding are stunning, as always:)

  6. 6

    Jessica — April 11, 2012 @ 1:49 pm

    I’m so drawn to making my own versions of so many store bought items – I’d love to actually try some of those recipes out!

  7. 7

    Sara — April 11, 2012 @ 1:50 pm

    I love the idea of this. Count me in for a chance to win please!

  8. 8

    Lynne — April 11, 2012 @ 1:52 pm

    Mmmmm…puddings always take me back to my childhood! Would love to be able to make more of the recipes in this cookbook and add it to my collection.Thanks for the opportunity….

  9. 9

    Molly — April 11, 2012 @ 1:54 pm

    And wouldn’t you know, I actually have blackberries in the fridge right now. Until now, I did not know there destiny would involve crowing a bowl of vanilla pudding. Would love to see what else this cookbook has in store.

  10. 10

    gluttonforlife — April 11, 2012 @ 2:09 pm

    I’d love to win a copy of this book, which sounds amazing, and perhaps even make this vanilla pudding (though your avocado panna cotta also just caught my eye)!

  11. 11

    Lorna — April 11, 2012 @ 2:12 pm

    This book has been on my Amazon wishlist since I first saw it, would love to win it!

  12. 12

    Julia — April 11, 2012 @ 2:14 pm

    Yes, please! Another thing that sounds so wonderful about this book is all the comforting foods in it. Especially comforting when you make them all from scratch. What could be more comforting than that? (Except for someone else making it from scratch for you, of course!)

  13. 13

    na — April 11, 2012 @ 2:28 pm

    Homemade cream cheese sounds great. I would love to try making it. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  14. 14

    Joyce — April 11, 2012 @ 2:35 pm

    I love real cooking, with real ingredients. My mother made homemade puddings and custards so many years ago. I must have that book! The photographs are beautiful. I hope I win it – because I will definitely try the recipes.

  15. 15

    Carla Phillips — April 11, 2012 @ 2:41 pm

    Sounds like a fabulous cookbook. Would love to win one! Might have to buy it if I don’t.

  16. 16

    BA — April 11, 2012 @ 3:04 pm

    That book sounds amazing. I would love to win a copy. In the meantime, I think I’ll make some pudding….

  17. 17

    Michelle — April 11, 2012 @ 3:15 pm

    Would love to win a copy! The recipes sound amazing!

  18. 18

    Kristi — April 11, 2012 @ 3:19 pm

    I haven’t run across this book yet, but sounds like a wonderful addition to my shelves. Thanks for sharing!

  19. 19

    Rebecca — April 11, 2012 @ 3:25 pm

    I would love to win the Homemade Pantry cookbooks!

  20. 20

    heather — April 11, 2012 @ 3:25 pm

    Is that utensil poking through a delicate little spoon? I love how dainty and decorative! Would love to page through Alana’s book — she’s wonderful.

    Cheers,

    *Heather*

  21. 21

    Janet — April 11, 2012 @ 3:54 pm

    I am trying this pudding recipe!

  22. 22

    Michelle M — April 11, 2012 @ 4:07 pm

    I hadn’t heard of this cookbook, but it sounds like my cup of tea! Homemade ricotta has been on my “to make” list for awhile.

  23. 23

    Joan — April 11, 2012 @ 4:17 pm

    I’d love to win a copy of this one. The recipe sounds and looks great. Thanks for the chance.

  24. 24

    LiztheChef — April 11, 2012 @ 5:38 pm

    The older I get, the more I prefer vanilla to chocolate. Thanks for a wonderful recipe here -

  25. 25

    Melissa C. — April 11, 2012 @ 5:52 pm

    I love this concept for a cookbook. I’d really like to win this one!

  26. 26

    Kristin — April 11, 2012 @ 5:53 pm

    Oh, that sounds amazing! I’m trying so hard to make the switch and cook everything from scratch, including pasta and condiments. This would be perfect for me!

  27. 27

    Brilana — April 11, 2012 @ 6:09 pm

    Mmmmm, I’ve been cutting out processed foods, and this sounds like I need a copy!

  28. 28

    LL Osborne — April 11, 2012 @ 6:42 pm

    This would be a fabulous addition to my pantry & cookbooks!

  29. 29

    Jenny — April 11, 2012 @ 6:43 pm

    Enter me please! Thanks Winnie. Beautiful pictures!

  30. 30

    Gigi — April 11, 2012 @ 6:51 pm

    Comfort food at its best! The photo is yummy looking! Thanks for the opportunity to enter.

  31. 31

    Donna Jo Anderson — April 11, 2012 @ 6:54 pm

    I need something to kick start me back into the kitchen and cooking. This could be it.

  32. 32

    Amy Kim — April 11, 2012 @ 7:03 pm

    I’ve made a few changes in the kitchen this year – stopped buying bread, stock, and prepackaged chicken parts. I’ve been baking my own bread, buying whole chickens and using every bit of the bird. On my to-do list is homemade tofu and Ricotta in addition to a few other things. This book would be a perfect addition to my collection!

    Lovely photos and website!

  33. 33

    Becca from It's Yummilicious — April 11, 2012 @ 7:17 pm

    That pudding looks DELICIOUS! I bet the book is filled with wonderful treats :)

  34. 34

    Pam — April 11, 2012 @ 7:29 pm

    The pudding looks so yummy and the photos are beautiful

  35. 35

    Jo Ann Buller — April 11, 2012 @ 7:35 pm

    i’d love to get the cookbook. love them.

  36. 36

    Jenni — April 11, 2012 @ 7:41 pm

    Thanks for posting this over on The Cookbook Junkies! I love-love-love vanilla pudding. Mine is very similar to this one, but I add eggs to mine. Regardless, vanilla pudding is one of the best things ever! I also covet–Covet!–your mugs! :)

  37. 37

    jackie — April 11, 2012 @ 7:54 pm

    Love the idea of this book! So many things we use everyday are so easily made – more healthfully and deliciously – at home!

  38. 38

    Katie @ Katie Without Restrictions — April 11, 2012 @ 8:00 pm

    I would LOVE to win a copy of this book! Sounds like the author is far ahead on a journey that I myself wish to travel.

  39. 39

    Heather — April 11, 2012 @ 8:13 pm

    This book is right up my alley! If I don’t win it, I’m for sure going to buy it! PS, you’re blog is fantastic. Thanks for being informative.

  40. 40

    Melanie — April 11, 2012 @ 8:26 pm

    This book looks awesome! As does your vanilla pudding! Thanks :)

  41. 41

    Abigail — April 11, 2012 @ 8:27 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity. I’m loving the process of learning how to make more and more of my own food from scratch.

  42. 42

    Urban Wife — April 11, 2012 @ 8:29 pm

    This sounds like the perfect cookbook to add to my humble collection! Thanks for the chance to win.

  43. 43

    Renee — April 11, 2012 @ 8:48 pm

    This sounds like a wonderful book! I’m currently enrolled in a Culinary Arts program and just love new recipes! :)

  44. 44

    Meister @ The Nervous Cook — April 11, 2012 @ 8:49 pm

    Oh, this is great: I just got around to reading this month’s issue of Martha Stewart Living, for which Alana contributed the lovely back page story about whipping up homemade breakfast pastry pockets for her daughters. I was so charmed by it I was already thinking about checking out this book…

    Thanks for this giveaway, and the post! I love vanilla pudding so much…

  45. 45

    Jill Lucas — April 11, 2012 @ 8:53 pm

    What beautiful photos! The custard looks so inviting and those plump blackberries are irresistible. Would love to take the book for a spin.

  46. 46

    Amy (Savory Moments) — April 11, 2012 @ 9:36 pm

    This pudding and the nice, plump blackberries look delicious!

  47. 47

    Kate — April 11, 2012 @ 10:15 pm

    Want it xox

  48. 48

    Jennifer — April 11, 2012 @ 10:27 pm

    I would love to win this book – I’m in the process of re-organizing my pantry and this would make a great addition!

  49. 49

    Theresa — April 11, 2012 @ 10:36 pm

    This vanilla pudding looks delicious. I bet the other recipes in the book are just as awesome.

  50. 50

    Cookbook: The Homemade Pantry and The Nutty Granola Bar | Food in Jars — April 11, 2012 @ 10:38 pm

    [...] but Winnie at Healthy Green Kitchen is giving away three copies. If you want a chance at winning, head over to her site and leave a comment to enter. The recipe for Alana’s Nutty Granola Bar is after the [...]

  51. 51

    Sheri — April 11, 2012 @ 10:51 pm

    This book is right up my mom alley- I try and make as many things as I can for my family, can’t trust Kraft et all to keep them safe or even taste good or not cost a fortune

  52. 52

    nancy machaj — April 11, 2012 @ 10:53 pm

    looks awesome! Hope I win!!!

  53. 53

    sara — April 11, 2012 @ 10:53 pm

    I really feel like this cook book was written for me! I have been making the transition to whole foods eating and stopped buying processed food. I would love to try some new recipes!

  54. 54

    Nell — April 11, 2012 @ 10:54 pm

    This book sounds wonderful – will be buying it if I don’t win! Thanks for the opportunity. So glad I found your blog too!

  55. 55

    Jeannie Smith — April 11, 2012 @ 10:55 pm

    great looking recipe – can’t wait to try it myself!

  56. 56

    Lekkercraft — April 11, 2012 @ 10:58 pm

    Always looking for ways to make more of the staples at home — this looks like a wonderful resource, and beautiful too!

  57. 57

    sara — April 11, 2012 @ 10:59 pm

    Those blackberries look amazing with the pudding, and the cookbook looks fantastic! :)

  58. 58

    Katie — April 11, 2012 @ 11:00 pm

    This looks like a great book!

  59. 59

    Rachel — April 11, 2012 @ 11:01 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity to win this cookbook! It looks fantastic!

  60. 60

    Lindz — April 11, 2012 @ 11:05 pm

    I would love to try the recipes in this book. If I don’t win it, it may need to go on the suggested birthday presents list. :)

  61. 61

    Cynthia — April 11, 2012 @ 11:06 pm

    OHMYGOSH that book sounds like the answer to my prayers!

  62. 62

    lainey b. — April 11, 2012 @ 11:07 pm

    My resolution for this year is to make more things from scratch, & I think I’m doing pretty well. Your review of this book is enough to keep me trying, & the idea of possibly having an actual copy would be inspirational.

  63. 63

    Katie Winston — April 11, 2012 @ 11:11 pm

    just found out about Alana’s book and can’t wait!

  64. 64

    Susan @ pinkportugueseroses — April 11, 2012 @ 11:16 pm

    So cool! Book sounds really yummy!

    Susan

  65. 65

    Erin — April 11, 2012 @ 11:19 pm

    I love Alana’s blog; can’t wait to read the book!

  66. 66

    Hannah M. — April 11, 2012 @ 11:20 pm

    This sounds like a lovely book!

  67. 67

    Sara {OneTribeGourmet} — April 11, 2012 @ 11:23 pm

    Lovely vanilla pudding recipe and the books seems as lovely as the recipe!

  68. 68

    Heather R — April 11, 2012 @ 11:23 pm

    This sounds like just my type of book. I just might have to “secret” it to myself this week. Thanks and trying your chia pudding for the first time tomorrow morning. I will let you know how my little guys like it!

  69. 69

    Beth — April 11, 2012 @ 11:34 pm

    I can’t wait to check out this book.

  70. 70

    Troy Adams — April 11, 2012 @ 11:37 pm

    I’ve been eyeing this book for a while. I’d love to win a copy!

  71. 71

    Ann — April 11, 2012 @ 11:37 pm

    My sister and I are planning on trying cheese making as our new project for this summer (to go with the jam and pickles that we already make – as well as all the other random things that come out of our kitchen). This looks like it would have some good recipes to make with our homemade cheese. Should be fun.

  72. 72

    denise cerreta — April 11, 2012 @ 11:39 pm

    I would LOVE to win a copy of that cookbook! The pudding looks excellent and I want to try the granola bars ASAP!

  73. 73

    Harvitron — April 11, 2012 @ 11:59 pm

    The cookbook (and the pudding!) look amazing!!

  74. 74

    rita — April 12, 2012 @ 12:03 am

    This book looks great. It would fit in perfectly with the changes we are making in our lives. Thanks for the chance to win.

  75. 75

    Kate — April 12, 2012 @ 12:19 am

    I saw the recipe for granola on another blog, and so between that and the recipes that you taked about, I am definitely intrigued and would LOVE to win a copy!

  76. 76

    sanfrenchisco — April 12, 2012 @ 12:23 am

    I hope it is still time for the copy of the book. The recipe looks great and the pots they are in are beautiful! I wish I could do something like this at my ceramics classes…

  77. 77

    Christine — April 12, 2012 @ 12:24 am

    Thanks so much for the giveaway, I hope one day I will also be able to craft my own delicious recipes from scratch!

  78. 78

    karen — April 12, 2012 @ 12:33 am

    This books sounds great, I am almost entirely making things from scratch these days so this book is right up my alley.

  79. 79

    Kari — April 12, 2012 @ 12:38 am

    That pudding looks sooo delicious!! I can’t wait for some fresh summer berries to put on top!

  80. 80

    DessertForTwo — April 12, 2012 @ 12:47 am

    Lovely! I saw this on Food in Jars and had to jump right over. This cookbook sounds so lovely!

  81. 81

    Jill — April 12, 2012 @ 12:54 am

    Thank you for reviewing this book. It was mentioned in one of my magazines and sounded so good, it immediately went on my want list.

  82. 82

    yvonne harville — April 12, 2012 @ 12:56 am

    would love to have the cookbook and go back to the roots of cooking & feeding the family…recently discussed my great aunt and the many things she taught me and how all of her meals were homemade dishes…probably the main reason I don’t buy pkg food as a rule…my aunt was in her 80′s before she ever had kfc chicken or ordered a hamburger…her food was fantastic…a pioneer type woman…i would love to learn more from the cookbook and share life with the author’s family. Have a great day…enjoy your site

  83. 83

    Tami — April 12, 2012 @ 1:06 am

    I would love to get a copy of this book! I’m excited to try this pudding recipe, as well as her granola bars. They look so good!
    Thanks!

  84. 84

    Rebecca — April 12, 2012 @ 1:10 am

    I already make lots of things from scratch but could definitely use some more recipes in my arsenal to inspire me. Definitely want to try the granola bars…

  85. 85

    emily | nomnivorous — April 12, 2012 @ 1:10 am

    A vanilla pudding recipe, brilliant! It’s so simple, but I’ve seen so many chocolate pudding recipes in the recent years and no one cares about vanilla. But I love it. And this book looks amazing.

  86. 86

    bruin — April 12, 2012 @ 1:19 am

    i want this cookbook!!

  87. 87

    Jessica — April 12, 2012 @ 1:47 am

    With three little ones at home I’m always looking for ways to cut down on pre-packaged food. This cookbook looks like just the thing!

  88. 88

    Krysta — April 12, 2012 @ 2:19 am

    That book looks so good!

    BTW, LOVE the pottery! :D

  89. 89

    nik — April 12, 2012 @ 2:34 am

    Who can resist a cookbook with Toaster Pastries on the cover? ;)

  90. 90

    Barbara — April 12, 2012 @ 2:39 am

    Trying to get back to cooking from scratch.

  91. 91

    Angie — April 12, 2012 @ 2:44 am

    Count me in, I am so into simple and homemade food!

  92. 92

    Sharon Oliver — April 12, 2012 @ 2:46 am

    this book looks perfect to add to my collection of cookbooks. definitely need more books like this. Thanks

  93. 93

    Nicole — April 12, 2012 @ 3:40 am

    Wow, this sounds like a wealth of information in one book. Cant wait to try these recipes!

  94. 94

    Embee — April 12, 2012 @ 4:00 am

    Oh, I would love a copy! Enter me, please. :)

  95. 95

    Darcie Moldovan — April 12, 2012 @ 4:37 am

    4 times in the last 3 days have I been introduced to this book! I NEED THIS BOOK!! So glad there are *real* people writing cookbooks with *real* recipes using ingredients that normal people have in their kitchens.

  96. 96

    Jackie — April 12, 2012 @ 5:21 am

    Like Darcie, I’ve stumbled upon this book 3 times this week and must have it. I’m crossing my fingers…. : )

    I love your ceramic cups for serving the pudding – it looks beautiful.

  97. 97

    Andrea — April 12, 2012 @ 5:22 am

    I love everything about this book! It would be a GREAT addition to my kitchen. :)

  98. 98

    Liz G — April 12, 2012 @ 5:38 am

    This cookbook sounds like a must-have for my kitchen!

  99. 99

    Tina "The Book Lady" — April 12, 2012 @ 5:45 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book. That vanilla pudding recipe looks wonderful and Food In Jars was telling us about the granola bars recipe in the book that would wonderful too!

    Thanks for the giveaway! Tina ‘the book lady’
    http://familyliteracy2.blogspot.com
    http://givingnsharing.blogspot.com

  100. 100

    Patti — April 12, 2012 @ 5:59 am

    I have been downsizing my cookbook collection, but this looks lovely and like a cookbook that would get much use.

  101. 101

    Matt — April 12, 2012 @ 6:10 am

    I can’t wait to read it!

  102. 102

    Cat Slate — April 12, 2012 @ 6:13 am

    I would love this cookbook. I hope I win it!

  103. 103

    judy metty — April 12, 2012 @ 6:19 am

    OMG!!! I WANT THIS COOKBOOK!!! Even if I don’t win one, I am going to buy it!!! I have been slowly moving in this direction this past year and making my own basics. My hubby is not on the wholewheat bus yet but, I don’t always tell him what is in stuff anyway and he doesn’t notice when he eats it just that it is a little different!

  104. 104

    Leslie Goldenberg — April 12, 2012 @ 6:23 am

    This book sounds amazing! would love to add it to my 120+ cookbook library.

  105. 105

    Sami — April 12, 2012 @ 6:58 am

    What a lovely book, I really like the photos. Sure would like to have this cookbook.

  106. 106

    Dawn — April 12, 2012 @ 7:00 am

    What a great book! I am constantly looking for recipes like this. How perfect that they would be put all together in one beautifully bound book!

  107. 107

    Jackie — April 12, 2012 @ 7:13 am

    I would love this book. I’m ready to get back to the basics.

  108. 108

    shari — April 12, 2012 @ 7:17 am

    would love a chance to win. thank you!

  109. 109

    Sarah Smith — April 12, 2012 @ 7:21 am

    Yes please!

  110. 110

    molly — April 12, 2012 @ 7:26 am

    looks wonderful! i’d love a copy!

  111. 111

    Nicole — April 12, 2012 @ 7:36 am

    yum. Looks so easy! I would love to win a copy of her book.

  112. 112

    Jasmine — April 12, 2012 @ 7:36 am

    Honestly? I had NO idea pudding could be that easy. Between this recipe and the super amazing granola bar recipe over on Food in Jars, this cookbook looks AMAZING.

  113. 113

    Kat — April 12, 2012 @ 7:39 am

    MMM..this book looks dreamy. Thanks for passing along the chance to explore it. And your pudding looks dreamy too!

  114. 114

    gale m — April 12, 2012 @ 7:40 am

    funny how we don’t realize how easy it is to make great tasting things without buying it already made – this looks yummy :) we are really trying to make more healthy choices and become more ‘green’ – this would be a great addition to helping us achieve our goal. thanks for the opportunity!

  115. 115

    Karen — April 12, 2012 @ 7:42 am

    This sounds delicious! I would love this cookbook!

  116. 116

    Fred — April 12, 2012 @ 7:48 am

    I had forgotten how wonderful homemade pudding was till I tried this… brought back memories of my Grandma in her kitchen. I will be doing more homemade again… and this book would be a great place to start.

  117. 117

    Stacey — April 12, 2012 @ 7:50 am

    Pick me! Pick me! I would love this book.

  118. 118

    Jane — April 12, 2012 @ 7:51 am

    I just discovered your blog, it is great! I, too, live in the Hudson Valley, and look forward to all the great spring veggies! This cookbooks sounds terrific and I’d love to have a copy!

  119. 119

    Jane — April 12, 2012 @ 7:52 am

    I just found your site today. Love your blog style & the HEALTHY part! Would love to win a cookbook also!

  120. 120

    Sue Blando — April 12, 2012 @ 7:55 am

    I love this! Reading your blog, Alana’s blog and so many others help me become the cook I really want to be; that all-around good, healthy, yummy and as green as possible cook that feeds her family with Good Food. Thank you for the giveaway – keep up the good work, you are an inspiration!

  121. 121

    Melissa — April 12, 2012 @ 7:56 am

    Oh – would love to win this! I’ve been making my own yogurt, kombucha, kim chee bread, pasta, etc for the last several years, as well as lots of other things, and would love to expand my repertoire. This book looks like it would be super!

  122. 122

    Jessie — April 12, 2012 @ 8:01 am

    This book sounds magical! With my 2nd child on the way, I really have to tighten our budget, but more importantly, I want to make sure that I’m feeding my family foods that are healthy and homemade. This book looks perfect!

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  123. 123

    Michelle — April 12, 2012 @ 8:05 am

    I am *kind* of obsessed with making stuff that most people buy. This cookbook would be awesome!

  124. 124

    Michelle — April 12, 2012 @ 8:10 am

    Wow, that recipe sounds delicious! I would love, love, love a copy of her book!

  125. 125

    Jackie — April 12, 2012 @ 8:16 am

    This book looks wonderful, I’d love to win a copy. I’m also adding it to my Paperbackswap wish list!

  126. 126

    Darla — April 12, 2012 @ 8:18 am

    I keep reading about this book and hope to get my hands on a copy. I’m sure it’s my turn to win!

  127. 127

    Lindsay — April 12, 2012 @ 8:20 am

    This book looks amazing. Crossing my fingers!

  128. 128

    Nancy — April 12, 2012 @ 8:24 am

    What a great name for a cookbook! I love the fact that more and more people seem to be getting the idea that processed food isn’t good for you. This book is definetly going on my wish list!

  129. 129

    Letty — April 12, 2012 @ 8:26 am

    Looks like a fantastic book! Loved the review too! Heading over to Amazon now to add this to my wishlist…

  130. 130

    Courtney — April 12, 2012 @ 8:28 am

    YUM!! The book looks amazing. Oh, please, please, please pick me!

  131. 131

    Katherine — April 12, 2012 @ 8:28 am

    Sounds like a great book. I’m in!

  132. 132

    MissM — April 12, 2012 @ 8:29 am

    I would love to have this book!

  133. 133

    Katie — April 12, 2012 @ 8:30 am

    I LOVE coming up with alternatives to store-bought. It sounds like a perfect cook book.

  134. 134

    Stacy — April 12, 2012 @ 8:32 am

    Oh Happy Spring! This book will be divine!!! Sounds like something that would be great for little children as well as adults…scrumptious!
    Thank you for this generous giveaway :)
    Stacy in Lancaster

  135. 135

    Claire — April 12, 2012 @ 8:33 am

    This book is immediately going on my inter-library loan list, just in case I don’t win a copy. I would love to try out her homemade lasagna noodles. Nothing is quite as gratifying as putting on a table spread all made from your own two hands.

  136. 136

    Erin — April 12, 2012 @ 8:33 am

    My favorite cookbooks are those that teach you through the prose as well as the writing… looking forward to picking this one up sometime soon.

  137. 137

    Amanda — April 12, 2012 @ 8:34 am

    Oh…I would love a copy of this cookbook!

  138. 138

    Robin Newberry — April 12, 2012 @ 8:34 am

    Me, me, me!

  139. 139

    Michele P. — April 12, 2012 @ 8:34 am

    What a beautiful book! We are always looking to reduce packaged foods in our house, but this goes beyond what I have tried up to this point- things like condiments, crackers, hamburger buns….regardless of if I win, this book has been added to my wish list for sure!

  140. 140

    Kim Stewart — April 12, 2012 @ 8:35 am

    Yummy, yummy and more yummy! I’d love to win!

  141. 141

    Rebecca L — April 12, 2012 @ 8:38 am

    Love your blog and would really enjoy cooking from this book. Thanks for all you do.

  142. 142

    Wendi @ Bon Appetit Hon — April 12, 2012 @ 8:40 am

    This sounds like a cookbook that I need on my shelf.

  143. 143

    Carolyn — April 12, 2012 @ 8:41 am

    Would love to win a copy of this book!!

  144. 144

    rosemary barringer — April 12, 2012 @ 8:42 am

    heading out to a state park spring festival in Delaware this weekend and will fix the nutty granola car snack for the children to snack on… I’d love to own the book!

  145. 145

    Rachael Warrington — April 12, 2012 @ 8:45 am

    Where was this book when my kids were little? As I read more about our food chain I want to make more common things that I usually purchase. Would love to give this book a try…..

  146. 146

    Kristine — April 12, 2012 @ 8:46 am

    I love these kinds of cookbooks! Thank you for the chance to win one!

  147. 147

    Tammy — April 12, 2012 @ 8:53 am

    I would SO love to win a copy of this book – it sounds AWESOME!

  148. 148

    Holly — April 12, 2012 @ 8:55 am

    This is one cookbook I’d really like to check out.

  149. 149

    Shana — April 12, 2012 @ 8:57 am

    This sounds like a must-have cookbook. I’d love to win a copy!

  150. 150

    Lynn — April 12, 2012 @ 8:59 am

    WOW! I’ve come across this book in several varied places over the past couple of week and it has hit my ‘gotta have’ list!

  151. 151

    Rachael — April 12, 2012 @ 9:00 am

    The book looks both beautiful and useful, which is my very favorite kind of cookbook!

  152. 152

    Tamar — April 12, 2012 @ 9:01 am

    I would love to win a copy of this amazing book!

  153. 153

    karinajean — April 12, 2012 @ 9:01 am

    I would love a copy of this book! it looks amazing, and the variety of recipes would be a huge benefit to our household eating.

  154. 154

    tanya — April 12, 2012 @ 9:05 am

    Thank you for the opportunity to win this book. It looks amazing! Beautiful blog! I love those little mugs.

  155. 155

    Anita Jackson — April 12, 2012 @ 9:06 am

    I’ve read your synopsis and one from another blog _Food in Jars_ and you both have convinced me! I need a copy of this Recipe Book! I love stories! And I love cooking, baking, making! Thanks for the offer!

  156. 156

    Shawna Wilkinson — April 12, 2012 @ 9:11 am

    This book sounds fantastic!

  157. 157

    Katie — April 12, 2012 @ 9:14 am

    I’d love to win this cookbook- as soon as I read about it on “Food in Jars” I wanted to add it to my Amazon cart! Beautiful blog :)

  158. 158

    Casey DelliCarpini — April 12, 2012 @ 9:16 am

    Oh please oh please oh please!!! Can’t wait to try the pudding recipe (and the granola bar recipe!) and would LOVE to have this book to try everything else. Homemade hamburger buns?! Come ON!!

  159. 159

    Jeanna — April 12, 2012 @ 9:23 am

    Thanks for the great giveaway! I’m crossing my fingers that my number is picked! : )

  160. 160

    SarahM — April 12, 2012 @ 9:23 am

    I’ve been following Alana online for a while now. As a former (and still at heart) Masshole, I would love to have this cookbook as a way to invite her into my kitchen!

  161. 161

    Olivia — April 12, 2012 @ 9:27 am

    This looks delicious! Marisa at FoodInJars made the granola bars too, which also look fabulous.

  162. 162

    Susan T — April 12, 2012 @ 9:29 am

    I have just happened upon your site through another site and I am so happy I did. I have been exploring the idea and foods that I can make from scratch but spend tons of money buying it conveniently in the grocery. I have been wanting to put a stop to that and know what I am putting in my mouth. Thank you.

  163. 163

    Cara — April 12, 2012 @ 9:35 am

    Oh how I love homemade pudding! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I found you through Food in Jars and I am very interested in Alana’s book! THanks for the great post and giveaway!

  164. 164

    Laura — April 12, 2012 @ 9:35 am

    I would love to have a copy – we’re trying to be more mindful about what we purchase and what we choose to make for our daughter, and this would be a great addition to our cookbook library!

  165. 165

    Connie — April 12, 2012 @ 9:37 am

    Thanks for tempting me to buy another cookbook! That pudding looks creamy and great. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  166. 166

    Jyll — April 12, 2012 @ 9:39 am

    Would love to have this book! Filling my pantry with homemade staples is a goal of mine-

  167. 167

    Olivia H — April 12, 2012 @ 9:40 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book! I love making recipes that “recreate” popular processed foods from the grocery store.

  168. 168

    Jan — April 12, 2012 @ 9:44 am

    I would love to have this book. I make some things at home from scratch now – ricotta, creme fraiche, and cornbread – but I’d like to do more.

  169. 169

    Kate W — April 12, 2012 @ 9:46 am

    Looks delish! Love the cookbook format and content.

  170. 170

    Simone — April 12, 2012 @ 9:47 am

    This book is on my wish list! But because we try to live the minimalist life, I cannot buy it right now. I am so glad I found your blog via art and lemons! I’m subscribing now!

  171. 171

    Linda Grothe — April 12, 2012 @ 9:48 am

    I’ve joined a CSA and this cookbook is just what I need. Thank you it looks great.

  172. 172

    Josh — April 12, 2012 @ 9:49 am

    Looks AMAZING! Would love a copy of it!

  173. 173

    Terry — April 12, 2012 @ 9:53 am

    I’d love this book. Thanks for giving us all a taste!

  174. 174

    Anna B — April 12, 2012 @ 9:56 am

    I would love to have this cookbook. I’m looking forward to making the pudding. My two daughters are into cooking from scratch so I will be sharing your website with them!

  175. 175

    rcakewalk — April 12, 2012 @ 9:58 am

    I just clicked over from Food in Jars, where Marisa shared Alana’s granola bar recipe (I have them in the oven right now, I couldn’t wait they looked so good) – and I’m very excited to check out this book in it’s entirety! Your photos are outstanding, you make me impatient to find the first of the blackberries…

  176. 176

    Alisa Baker — April 12, 2012 @ 9:58 am

    Wow does that look delicious. May have to do this for dessert tonight. Love custard and love the berries.

  177. 177

    Julie Quilligan — April 12, 2012 @ 10:01 am

    Would absolutely love a copy of the book!

  178. 178

    James — April 12, 2012 @ 10:01 am

    Sounds amazing!!

  179. 179

    James G. — April 12, 2012 @ 10:04 am

    I was sent to this site from the “Food In Jars” blog, and really like what I see here. I also like what I briefly saw of The Homemade Pantry.

  180. 180

    Teruska — April 12, 2012 @ 10:04 am

    I would LOVE to own this book. We already make some of our own pantry items and I would be happier if we made more.

  181. 181

    Karen McMaster — April 12, 2012 @ 10:05 am

    thanks for the opportunity to win this awesome book…I cant wait to receive an email saying Im one of the 3 winners :o)

  182. 182

    Virginia Hill — April 12, 2012 @ 10:06 am

    Looks like wonderful book. I’m vegan, but I can pick recipes that are vegan or adapt the non-vegan recipes to vegan. Hopefully I will get the free copy. If not, I’ll definitely keep an eye out for the book to purchase!

  183. 183

    Katie — April 12, 2012 @ 10:07 am

    I’d love a copy! And I’ll definitely be trying out the pudding recipe. Thanks!

  184. 184

    Katy Lamb — April 12, 2012 @ 10:10 am

    Would love to learn how to make pasta and condiments from scratch. Sounds like a great cookbook to own.

  185. 185

    Tiffany — April 12, 2012 @ 10:11 am

    I would totally love this! Due to weird food allergies in my household a homemade pantry is right up my alley!!!

  186. 186

    amanda d. — April 12, 2012 @ 10:11 am

    I love this idea and I would love a copy of this book.

  187. 187

    Deborah Lloyd — April 12, 2012 @ 10:12 am

    Like so many others here, I am growing my own garden now, and am a beginner canner. I hope to start making my own cheeses, breads, etc. soon. Very soon. I would love to win a copy!

  188. 188

    Lisa — April 12, 2012 @ 10:13 am

    What a great book!

  189. 189

    Judy Pitts — April 12, 2012 @ 10:13 am

    Would love to win a copy of this book…Especially want to try pudding and your avocado panna cotta also caught my eye)!

  190. 190

    Kaitlin — April 12, 2012 @ 10:14 am

    Sounds like a book I’d wear some creases into quickly! I’d love to win :)

  191. 191

    Alexa Bosse — April 12, 2012 @ 10:16 am

    This looks like an amazing book. I am always trying to figure out the recipes for items that I buy a lot – how wonderful to have a resource to turn to instead. Please count me in for this book.

  192. 192

    Becca — April 12, 2012 @ 10:16 am

    Would love to have a copy of the book.

  193. 193

    alexandra day — April 12, 2012 @ 10:17 am

    I would love a copy just like every one else on here but I think I want it alittle more so random.org pick me lol…

  194. 194

    Lyn Deardorff — April 12, 2012 @ 10:17 am

    I’m in love with our times right now! Markets are better, farms are offering more, and the choices for our food table – well, quite extensive! And then we can talk cookbooks! I’m so happy to find all these wonderful offerings now – really practical cookbooks (and I’ve lived long enough to remember when the trend was books on cooking for elegant dinners!) Thanks for another great offering! Something we can do at home that is healthy and simple! Lyn@PreservingNow.com

  195. 195

    Rose Marie — April 12, 2012 @ 10:20 am

    Count me in! I’m growing my own veggies and doing my own canning. Love to know what we are eating!

  196. 196

    Jannett — April 12, 2012 @ 10:21 am

    This book should be in every household kitchen (including mine!)

  197. 197

    Jennifer — April 12, 2012 @ 10:21 am

    This cookbook sounds great. I already want to try the vanilla pudding recipe!

  198. 198

    carolann krimmer — April 12, 2012 @ 10:21 am

    Nice post-would love to win a copy!

  199. 199

    Katy — April 12, 2012 @ 10:24 am

    My local library only has 1 copy, boo!

  200. 200

    Cherie Bouma — April 12, 2012 @ 10:27 am

    I really want to add this book to my home cooking library. I have started eliminating processed foods but find that I am at a loss when trying to replace what I am eliminating with homemade food. We all need to learn how to cook real food again like our grandmothers did!

  201. 201

    Shauna Espey — April 12, 2012 @ 10:29 am

    i would love the chance to win this book! i have been trying to make more from scratch and this would definitely be helpful!

  202. 202

    Judith Inge — April 12, 2012 @ 10:30 am

    Happy Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day!

  203. 203

    Leslie sutton — April 12, 2012 @ 10:30 am

    Sounds like a wonderful book. I’m hearing nothing but raves ….. One way or the other this is a must have!

  204. 204

    Emily @ Random Recycling — April 12, 2012 @ 10:33 am

    Perfect Mother’s Day gift…to me!

  205. 205

    Jean — April 12, 2012 @ 10:35 am

    This book sounds fantastic. I hope I’m a winner! :)

  206. 206

    April Eubanks — April 12, 2012 @ 10:36 am

    That looks really good

  207. 207

    michele rietz — April 12, 2012 @ 10:36 am

    looks like a fantastic book!

  208. 208

    Danielle — April 12, 2012 @ 10:42 am

    I’d love to win this book but between the granola bar recipe and this pudding recipe, which looks divine with those blackberries, I’ll buy it if I don’t.

  209. 209

    Becky Green — April 12, 2012 @ 10:46 am

    Would love to win!!!

  210. 210

    Leslie Eddington — April 12, 2012 @ 10:48 am

    Recipe sounds yummy and would love to be able to win the cookbook!

  211. 211

    Valerie — April 12, 2012 @ 10:49 am

    This books sounds like the perfect inspiration for condiments – this year I’m working on learning how to make my own mustard, mayo, and ketchup!

  212. 212

    TC — April 12, 2012 @ 10:49 am

    I need to learn to make more stuff at home, instead of depending on commercial products. The book sounds lovely.

  213. 213

    Mitzi — April 12, 2012 @ 10:51 am

    I have just learned how to can over the past month. My mother in law taught me! She is pretty much a pioneer woman, and I have always been a city girl. But I am HOOKED on canning and preserving now! LOL! I love it! We grow a lot of our berries and other food and I can’t wait to try new recipes and ideas on how to store these! I would love to win the book, since I’m such a newbie, I can use all the help I can get! LOL! :)

  214. 214

    Judi Kelly — April 12, 2012 @ 10:51 am

    Such an eye opener. Hoping to be self sustaining in the next few years. One step at a time.

  215. 215

    Belinda Lacoste — April 12, 2012 @ 10:52 am

    Classy picture! We have not eaten pudding in years since the journey to healthier foods; never purchasing store bought! My boys deserve to eat healthy and delicious foods = your cookbook! Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy!

  216. 216

    Bella — April 12, 2012 @ 10:55 am

    This book looks simply amazing!

  217. 217

    Tracey Y — April 12, 2012 @ 10:57 am

    This book looks great. I just put it on hold at the library…just in case I don’t win!

  218. 218

    Lynda — April 12, 2012 @ 10:58 am

    Would love to win a copy. I’m a “from scratch” cook and love adding to my library!

  219. 219

    Sandi Plotner — April 12, 2012 @ 10:59 am

    I so need this book for inspiration!!

  220. 220

    Autumn — April 12, 2012 @ 11:00 am

    This book is in my amazon wish list already! I would love a copy!

  221. 221

    Samantha — April 12, 2012 @ 11:01 am

    This is awesome and just what I was looking for…If I don’t win I’ heading to the nearest book store to find a copy!

  222. 222

    Dana Barnett — April 12, 2012 @ 11:05 am

    I’d love a copy!

  223. 223

    Eric C — April 12, 2012 @ 11:11 am

    I’d love this book!

  224. 224

    Gretchen — April 12, 2012 @ 11:13 am

    This book looks fantastic! Just found your blog and am excite to read through it!

  225. 225

    kate — April 12, 2012 @ 11:14 am

    wow, sounds like a great book!

  226. 226

    KarenV — April 12, 2012 @ 11:17 am

    I would love to win a copy of the book. The pudding looks great, certainly helped by the amazingly beautiful dishes you photographed it in. Any info on the dishes?

  227. 227

    momgateway — April 12, 2012 @ 11:19 am

    I could really use this book!

  228. 228

    Tarri Christopher — April 12, 2012 @ 11:20 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book. What beautiful photography! It makes me want to eat the pudding, grow and eat the berries, buy or make my own beautiful pottery vessels. Delectable!

  229. 229

    Linda Joyner — April 12, 2012 @ 11:23 am

    I have already experimented with making my own butter, mayonnaise, bread, cheese, yogurt, and a dozen other things. However, I would love to have this book as a resource all in one location.

  230. 230

    Amy Todd — April 12, 2012 @ 11:24 am

    I have been looking for a book that contains “real recipes”, you know,…the ones that taste like “memories”.

  231. 231

    Michelle — April 12, 2012 @ 11:28 am

    Sounds like an awesome cookbook!

  232. 232

    Eve S. — April 12, 2012 @ 11:32 am

    *Crosses fingers* Please, let me win ;)

  233. 233

    Claire R — April 12, 2012 @ 11:32 am

    This book sounds great! I also love those ceramic cups. They’re beautiful! Are they from a local artist? Or are they available somewhere online?

    Thanks!

  234. 234

    Cindy B. — April 12, 2012 @ 11:33 am

    Sounds wonderful, I went to amazon and look it up, I love it!! Great giveaway!!

  235. 235

    Kristin Roberts — April 12, 2012 @ 11:33 am

    This book sounds fabulous! I would love to add it to my collection!!

  236. 236

    Penny Hummel — April 12, 2012 @ 11:36 am

    Hello! We are a quest to eat healthier at our home, as are amny other people. I’d love a copy of your book. Count me in! :-)

  237. 237

    Krystyl — April 12, 2012 @ 11:38 am

    I would love to win a copy!

  238. 238

    Anitra — April 12, 2012 @ 11:43 am

    I’m sure the pudding is as tasty as your pictures are beautiful!

  239. 239

    Lauren — April 12, 2012 @ 11:44 am

    What a great giveaway!! I actually acquired my first gallon of raw milk this week–and just this morning gave my first try at homemade yogurt, using your instructions. It’s currently culturing in the oven with the light on and I can’t wait to try it! Thank you for sharing your real, nourishing food wisdom with us :)

  240. 240

    Laura — April 12, 2012 @ 11:45 am

    This sounds like the best cookbook!

  241. 241

    Leah — April 12, 2012 @ 11:45 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book – how sad that I already have it on hold at the library, and it’s not even there yet – they have it on order…when it comes in, it’s mine, for a few weeks at least. I would still like to have this for reference purposes :)

  242. 242

    Deanna — April 12, 2012 @ 11:46 am

    This vanilla pudding looks amazing! Thanks for sharing.

  243. 243

    Heather spaniel — April 12, 2012 @ 11:47 am

    I am making a conversion to cleaner eating and loathe all the chemicals and colorings in our food. My mom has inspired me to make more food from scratch and this book would help me in my journey to healthier food

  244. 244

    Molly — April 12, 2012 @ 11:48 am

    This book sounds amazing! It would be a great complement to one I already own: Make the Bread, Buy the Butter.

  245. 245

    Kelsey Nelson — April 12, 2012 @ 11:50 am

    Would love to win a copy of this book–the pictures are beautiful and I’ve only heard good things about it!

  246. 246

    Amanda M — April 12, 2012 @ 11:52 am

    This sounds wonderful! I’m trying to make more and more homemade dishes and this book would certainly help. The lasagna sounds delicious.

  247. 247

    AKing — April 12, 2012 @ 11:53 am

    I am trying to make more from scratch and would love to win a copy of this book! Thanks for the chance to win!

  248. 248

    Kim — April 12, 2012 @ 11:54 am

    It tells you how to make your own CREAM CHEESE? I’ve never even considered that you could make it! I would love a copy of this book to experiment with. My boyfriend and I are planning on doing a month of only eating things we’ve produced in our kitchen, including breads and condiments–this would be perfect!

  249. 249

    Sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 11:57 am

    This book sounds amazing, I’d love to be able to try this for my family.

  250. 250

    Kathy Bristowe — April 12, 2012 @ 12:06 pm

    I love the fact that she makes all of this for her family. I am sure mine would love them too.

  251. 251

    Alice — April 12, 2012 @ 12:07 pm

    Sounds like a great book!
    Thanks :)

  252. 252

    Pam Mullen — April 12, 2012 @ 12:08 pm

    I am retired and very much into making good, healthy foods. I would love to have your book. It sounds wonderful.

  253. 253

    Erin B — April 12, 2012 @ 12:11 pm

    I have been experimenting with new recipes to try and replace our store bought snacks and such. Both out of regard for our health but also our pocketbook. Homemade wheat thins, saltines, and fruit leather have been great hits. When you’re on the poorer end of the scale, one really realizes how much we can save by doing it ourselves. Plus, complete control of the ingredients is marvelous!!! I would feel so blessed to win a copy of this book. Thank you so much for sharing!!! :)

  254. 254

    emily — April 12, 2012 @ 12:15 pm

    I added the book to my amazon wish list. Sounds great!

  255. 255

    spacemonkey1138 — April 12, 2012 @ 12:16 pm

    Looks tasty! Thanks for the chance!

  256. 256

    Kathryn — April 12, 2012 @ 12:17 pm

    Wow, this book looks awesome! I hope I win, although I’ve added the book to my wish list, just in case! I’ve been trying to cut down on what I buy and make more of my own, but it’s tough.

  257. 257

    Susan Sullivan — April 12, 2012 @ 12:19 pm

    Homemade vanilla pudding is the best. I love homemade chocolate pudding even more but the way it is portrayed in the photos, makes me ready to start whipping it up right now.

  258. 258

    Rhiannon — April 12, 2012 @ 12:20 pm

    So excited about this book!

  259. 259

    Heather — April 12, 2012 @ 12:21 pm

    This sounds like an excellent cookbook!

  260. 260

    lani — April 12, 2012 @ 12:21 pm

    Sweet recipe I have some vanilla beans that have been in a jar soaking for homemade vanilla extract waiting for somewhere to go when they are done. Thank you for the opportunity and great blog…..

  261. 261

    Carolyn S — April 12, 2012 @ 12:21 pm

    Thanks for doing a great giveaway. I’ve got my fingers crossed, that looks like a great book!

  262. 262

    Sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 12:23 pm

    MMM… Looks like a lot of great recipes!

  263. 263

    Anna N — April 12, 2012 @ 12:25 pm

    I came over from Food in Jars. I would love this book just for the granola bar recipe Marissa posted there!

  264. 264

    Nance — April 12, 2012 @ 12:25 pm

    Yes, I’d love to win the book. It would definitely be something that my daughters and I could work on together in the kitchen. The healthier options in this book would be a huge step towards a healthier kitchen! Thanks so much for the giveaway opportunity.

  265. 265

    Margaret Brittain — April 12, 2012 @ 12:28 pm

    I want to win too.

  266. 266

    Jo B — April 12, 2012 @ 12:35 pm

    I love trying new approaches to different dishes-this book looks amazing. Would love to win a copy!

  267. 267

    sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 12:39 pm

    Man, that pudding looks heavenly! I think we’ll make it this afternoon, yum! I’d love to win a copy of the book, it looks amazing!

  268. 268

    Jennifer — April 12, 2012 @ 12:40 pm

    This book is right up my alley. I’ve always just made what others bought – this book would be tremendous inspiration!

  269. 269

    Jane — April 12, 2012 @ 12:41 pm

    Ooo, this book looks like an awesome collection and a fun read!

  270. 270

    Rella — April 12, 2012 @ 12:43 pm

    I love living out of my pantry–this book looks awesome!

  271. 271

    Em Walker — April 12, 2012 @ 12:43 pm

    I’d love a copy myself! Thanks for the giveaway and the recipe looks fantastic, I can’t wait to try it!

  272. 272

    Rosemeri — April 12, 2012 @ 12:44 pm

    I would love a copy. Please include me in your giveaway. Thanks

  273. 273

    Katie — April 12, 2012 @ 12:47 pm

    The pudding looks so simple! I’ve been looking for a fairly straightfoward pudding recipe. I’m going to have to try this.

  274. 274

    Leanne — April 12, 2012 @ 12:47 pm

    Sounds like an awesome book! I’d love to have a copy and will probably buy one if I don’t win one :)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  275. 275

    Ginny Kinne — April 12, 2012 @ 12:49 pm

    This cookbook looks fantastic! I love granola and I love being able to make things at home, that others normally would buy at the store. It makes me feel self-sufficient and back to “my roots”.

  276. 276

    Ivy Manning — April 12, 2012 @ 12:58 pm

    Oh I would love to win a copy, it’s been such a long time since I had a new cookbook to devour, and I got a fortune cookie last week that said I was going to receive an unexpected gift. So there it is!

  277. 277

    Heather — April 12, 2012 @ 1:00 pm

    This book looks like a kitchen must-have… if I don’t win, I’ll definitely be purchasing a copy soon!

  278. 278

    Louise — April 12, 2012 @ 1:04 pm

    This is so up my alley and I am happy to have found you and added you to my blog list.

  279. 279

    Melissa — April 12, 2012 @ 1:13 pm

    While I do a lot of my own cooking/baking for snacks and treats – new recipes are always welcome!! A kitchen, isn’t a kitche, without a pantry!

  280. 280

    Amy Fowler — April 12, 2012 @ 1:19 pm

    I love this recipe. Reminds me of the old fashioned vanilla pudding my mom used to make. Do you have the nutritional info for one serving? I’m on a health kick and tracking my sugar and calories. Thanks so much! Winning the book would be gravy! :0)

  281. 281

    Susan Anderson — April 12, 2012 @ 1:19 pm

    I do make a lot of my own staples (especially love homemade almond milk), but I am always in the market for new ideas. I am a very experimental cook, which has lead to some wonderful discoveries–roasted garlic maple whole grain mustard, for one.

  282. 282

    Sandra S. — April 12, 2012 @ 1:19 pm

    A must have book…crossing fingers!

  283. 283

    Barbara A — April 12, 2012 @ 1:28 pm

    This sounds like a wonderful book, I have always wanted to try my hand at making cheese. I never mind making a mess in the kitchen!

  284. 284

    Theresa T — April 12, 2012 @ 1:32 pm

    The book and the recipe look fabulous!

  285. 285

    Mara — April 12, 2012 @ 1:32 pm

    Sounds like a lovely addition to my every growing library. I may have to buy it even is I don’t win!

  286. 286

    Sherri — April 12, 2012 @ 1:37 pm

    Ohhh…this book looks perfect for my kind of cooking!

  287. 287

    cynthia — April 12, 2012 @ 1:37 pm

    I would love to have this in my ktichen library! Yum!

  288. 288

    Una — April 12, 2012 @ 1:40 pm

    Love! Found you by way of Food in Jars. Can’t wait to see the rest of this book, it’s now on my list!

  289. 289

    Jess Louie — April 12, 2012 @ 1:50 pm

    This looks amazing, with the added blackberries – yum!

  290. 290

    Erin — April 12, 2012 @ 1:52 pm

    looking at this pudding and the granola bar recipe that marisa highlighted, i am super excited for this book!

  291. 291

    Erin — April 12, 2012 @ 1:54 pm

    I try to make everything I can from scratch and this would be a great addition to my cookbook collection!

  292. 292

    Tina — April 12, 2012 @ 1:59 pm

    Pick me, Pick me! I would love to try out some of these wonderful goodies.

  293. 293

    Corinne — April 12, 2012 @ 2:00 pm

    How I would love to win a copy of this book…I have been cooking from scratch for nearly 50 years, and have NEVER tired of it…smile! Perhaps that is also why I am entranced by the personal “stories” that accompany recipes in both my files and in the files of other cooks…! Thank you for entering me in your contest, and I will keep my fingers crossed for the next week…!!

  294. 294

    pate — April 12, 2012 @ 2:01 pm

    Wow, looks like a great book. I’d love a copy to keep pushing on the make it from scratch mantra my wife and I are working.

  295. 295

    Neena — April 12, 2012 @ 2:15 pm

    What an amazing giveaway! I would love to win a copy!

  296. 296

    kristy imschweiler — April 12, 2012 @ 2:17 pm

    Going to try this for the husband tomorrow night! Looks amazing, thank you for the recipe!

  297. 297

    Jen — April 12, 2012 @ 2:23 pm

    This pudding and the book both look amazing! I will have to check out this book regardless!! (And make the pudding of course :P)

  298. 298

    Jess — April 12, 2012 @ 2:47 pm

    That sounds like a delicious book I simply must add to my shelf! Read about this first on Food in Jars. I’m always happy to learn about new blogs!

  299. 299

    Jessi Reil de Olvera — April 12, 2012 @ 2:53 pm

    I too have been striving to make things at home that you would normally purchase. My rule- If you can’t make it at home you shouldn’t be putting it in your body. Cheetos have not been missed as much as I thought they would ;) especially when you have so many more rewarding things such as homemade cheeses and bread raised from wild yeast.

  300. 300

    Meryl — April 12, 2012 @ 2:54 pm

    Sounds like a great cookbook!

  301. 301

    Tanya — April 12, 2012 @ 2:54 pm

    I would love to try out this cookbook! My family has come a long way in terms of eating organically and locally but we still have plenty of room for improvement, and I bet this would help :)

  302. 302

    Amy — April 12, 2012 @ 2:55 pm

    Just might make this pudding tonight! Wish I had some raw milk though… I bet that was amazing!

  303. 303

    Amy from Texas — April 12, 2012 @ 3:00 pm

    Sounds like an awesome book.

  304. 304

    Lorry Meyers Kirschner — April 12, 2012 @ 3:13 pm

    Having a “Homemade Pantry” took on a whole new meaning for me some years ago when the sad economy made me become someone I thought I would never be-among the unemployed…then it hit me…I would be more like my Grandma, and even try things she had never done. I have become a Canning Queen amongst my friends, and have a daughter who is equally as obsessed. We decided to step outside the box- we didn’t want to just preserve veggies, so we have done everything from my Italian spaghetti sauce, to Cincinnati Chili, all types of meat, and even use the foods we preserve as Christmas Gifts. I would LOVE one of these books, because we are always looking for new ideas. I am so proud of my Vanessa and her young friends for learning food preservation, and for keeping the tradition going.

  305. 305

    Lee Clark — April 12, 2012 @ 3:15 pm

    I am new to the home canning idea…..I’m trying to make healthy choices about my eating habits as well. This book sounds like a good learning tool.

  306. 306

    paula t — April 12, 2012 @ 3:26 pm

    i would love to win a copy of this book!

  307. 307

    Stephanie O — April 12, 2012 @ 3:34 pm

    This recipe looks great, I’d love a copy of Alana’s book!

    Also, the mugs you’re serving the pudding in are really lovely.

  308. 308

    Tish — April 12, 2012 @ 3:35 pm

    This book is a great “go to” book. There are so many recipes when it comes to making your own that it can sometimes be over whelming. This book would be great to have in the kitchen and not have to search around on the internet for recipes.

  309. 309

    alisa pronovost — April 12, 2012 @ 3:40 pm

    wow. looks like a n incredible resource for my canning addicted self to get great use out of. Beautiful blog too, I was sent here from “food in jars”. I would love to win a copy.

  310. 310

    Jamie — April 12, 2012 @ 3:40 pm

    Wow this book looks very inspiring-thanks for the opportunity

  311. 311

    Stephanie — April 12, 2012 @ 3:46 pm

    This book looks amazing. I’d LOVE to win a copy. :)

    By the way, I found my way here from Food in Jars. I’ll have to come here more often.

  312. 312

    Marie W — April 12, 2012 @ 3:52 pm

    I would be blessed to have this book. Homemade is so my way of doing things, all help with this is welcomed. Love you site!

  313. 313

    bunkie — April 12, 2012 @ 3:56 pm

    wonderful offer. love the pics of the pudding. the stoneware is beautiful!

  314. 314

    suzanne — April 12, 2012 @ 4:02 pm

    I am off to make the granola bars right now! I would love to see the whole cook book.

  315. 315

    Becca Ackerman-Bennett — April 12, 2012 @ 4:05 pm

    Looks divine! I can’t wait to try out recipes from the new cookbook. I hope I win!

  316. 316

    Misti — April 12, 2012 @ 4:11 pm

    This is exactly what I am trying to do right now. Learn how to make it instead of buying it with all the processed stuff in there.

  317. 317

    Jody — April 12, 2012 @ 4:11 pm

    Yum! This cookbook looks fantastic.

  318. 318

    Jess P — April 12, 2012 @ 4:15 pm

    Just getting into making our own food. This book looks great.

  319. 319

    sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 4:17 pm

    I’ve been looking for a really practical cookbook like this… it’s going on my list :)

  320. 320

    Paula — April 12, 2012 @ 4:32 pm

    I love new cookbooks, and this one looks beautiful! Thanks for offering it!

  321. 321

    Patrick — April 12, 2012 @ 4:37 pm

    I am both an adventurous cook and one who likes to make better versions of foods I can buy. I started out with pickles, jams, etc. but have moved on to a whole lot of other foods that I not only save money on by making my own but I feel much better about the quality. I currently make my own yogurt & kefir (both milk- and water-kefir), soy milk, bread (in many different forms and styles), pickles, jams & jellies, liquers, syrups, and more. A lot of the canned food become gifts at Christmas, but I usually squirrel some away just for our use as well. I enjoy the blog!

  322. 322

    Heather — April 12, 2012 @ 4:37 pm

    This book looks wonderful, the perfect addition to assist us with doing more from scratch!

  323. 323

    Lindsey — April 12, 2012 @ 4:53 pm

    I just discovered her blog and would love to have a copy of her new book. Thanks for the chance to win!

  324. 324

    Ted S. — April 12, 2012 @ 4:55 pm

    You had me from the word pudding—which I love but which seems to be beyond my abilities. This sounds like a wonderful book.

  325. 325

    Jennifer — April 12, 2012 @ 5:01 pm

    The recipe looks wonderful, I never thought of making pudding from scratch! I’d love to win a copy of this.

  326. 326

    JRR — April 12, 2012 @ 5:09 pm

    Looks delectable.

  327. 327

    Tia Bednar — April 12, 2012 @ 5:21 pm

    Mmmm…this book sounds wonderful! Thank you for the great recipes!

  328. 328

    Emily — April 12, 2012 @ 5:30 pm

    I have had my eye on this amazing-looking book! Would love to win a copy!

  329. 329

    Rose — April 12, 2012 @ 5:36 pm

    I love making things from scratch so this is right up my alley!

  330. 330

    carrie — April 12, 2012 @ 5:39 pm

    This books looks GREAT, I will be getting a copy. :)

  331. 331

    Heather V — April 12, 2012 @ 5:43 pm

    That is mouthwatering! I’d love to win a copy of The Homemade Pantry, it sounds like there are some amazing recipes!

  332. 332

    Ada — April 12, 2012 @ 5:47 pm

    Love the sounds of this book! Would love to add it to my ever growing shelf of cookbooks!

  333. 333

    Kate — April 12, 2012 @ 6:12 pm

    I’m going to get to meet her at the from scratch club food swap on Sunday! I’d love to have a copy of the book.

  334. 334

    li — April 12, 2012 @ 6:20 pm

    I would love to have a copy of the book!

  335. 335

    Kate @ Snowflake Kitchen — April 12, 2012 @ 6:22 pm

    Vanilla and blackberries – my favorite!

  336. 336

    Mary — April 12, 2012 @ 6:31 pm

    Oh man…craving berries now….and a book would be nice!

  337. 337

    Leah — April 12, 2012 @ 6:39 pm

    mmmmm — these recipes sound really terrific! I love Eating From the Ground Up and would be thrilled to have a copy of her cookbook!

  338. 338

    Lisa — April 12, 2012 @ 6:39 pm

    Sounds like the perfect companion on my making good food from scratch journey.

  339. 339

    Christy Ruiz — April 12, 2012 @ 6:40 pm

    Would love to get my hands on a copy of this. Guess I’ll be hitting Amazon if I don’t win but here’s hoping.

  340. 340

    karylsquilts — April 12, 2012 @ 6:47 pm

    sounds like a wonderful & usefull book ! one to keep on the counter well used!

  341. 341

    Sherri G. — April 12, 2012 @ 6:58 pm

    I am so not good in the kitchen! It sounds like this book would teach me many things.

  342. 342

    Tonya — April 12, 2012 @ 7:00 pm

    Thanks for the vanilla pudding recipe , I was just looking for one, I’m wanting to make banana pudding with the wafers. I wonder if I leave out the bananas and use the berries …hmmmm… The book sounds intersting, Thanks again.

  343. 343

    Margie — April 12, 2012 @ 7:12 pm

    This sounds just like the perfect thing to complete my daughter’s ‘pantry’. She lives in the Colorado mountains at 9000′ and keeps an awesome pantry full of things needed for the next several months thus saving much time and cutting out quick (never are they quick) trips to the store for an item or two.

  344. 344

    Lois — April 12, 2012 @ 7:29 pm

    What a great give-away! I would just love to win this cookbook. A unique concept for a cookbook – homemade pantry. Spices and spice mixes are uber expensive — we don’t know what is in the processed food that we might be eating — “pink slime” in our ground beef — salmonella on our veggies – what next!!! Homemade is probably the only way to go to be safe and healthy these days.

  345. 345

    Jennifer — April 12, 2012 @ 7:34 pm

    What a great site! What a great cookbook! I’m glad I found you both.

  346. 346

    Andria — April 12, 2012 @ 7:35 pm

    This book looks amazing! I’ve slowly been transitioning my family over to whole food cooking and trying to make as much as possible from scratch. This would be a wonderful addition to my cookbooks.

  347. 347

    Maria — April 12, 2012 @ 7:37 pm

    The book sounds divine – would love to proudly add to my tried and true collection on my ever burgeoning kitchen bookshelf!

  348. 348

    Sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 7:45 pm

    Wow, that books look great. Right up my style of cooking.

  349. 349

    Darlene — April 12, 2012 @ 7:52 pm

    Just found your fantastic blog! Please count me in. The cook book looks wonderful. I love to cook and bake from scratch. Thank you.

  350. 350

    Susan Goodman — April 12, 2012 @ 7:53 pm

    I am really needing this book to add to the canning preserving books! The excerpts I have seen so far are awesome!

  351. 351

    Jo — April 12, 2012 @ 7:57 pm

    Want want want that cookbook!

  352. 352

    Christina P — April 12, 2012 @ 7:59 pm

    Amazing! My mouth is watering just from reading your blog!

  353. 353

    Lise — April 12, 2012 @ 8:18 pm

    This book looks wonderful; I’d love a chance to win! Thanks!

  354. 354

    Sarah — April 12, 2012 @ 8:26 pm

    Saw on Food in Jars and I’m sold! I want this! Would become a loved cookbook, I’m sure!

  355. 355

    Jessica — April 12, 2012 @ 8:35 pm

    This looks like a gem. Thanks for the review!

  356. 356

    Hannah — April 12, 2012 @ 8:46 pm

    I would love a copy of this! Love the blog :)

  357. 357

    Beth — April 12, 2012 @ 8:51 pm

    The book looks incredible. I would love it!

  358. 358

    Emily — April 12, 2012 @ 8:54 pm

    So interested in her tips on frozen pizza.

  359. 359

    Gabrielle — April 12, 2012 @ 8:56 pm

    Wow, this book looks great! Thanks for the chance to win it.

  360. 360

    Maria — April 12, 2012 @ 9:24 pm

    how yummy! I love the spoon sunk into the pudding too. It looks like a piece of jewelry. I would love to have this book…thanks for offering it up.

  361. 361

    Kamala — April 12, 2012 @ 9:36 pm

    Would love to have a copy of this book — thanks for the opportunity.

  362. 362

    Joy Denise — April 12, 2012 @ 9:42 pm

    I would LOVE to win a copy of this book – thanks for the chance! And if I don’t win, well, my birthday is just around the corner and I am putting this book on my wish list!
    joybmts@yahoo.com

  363. 363

    Amanda Perez — April 12, 2012 @ 9:44 pm

    Would love a copy of this. Thanks for the opportunity!

  364. 364

    Fancy Nancy B. — April 12, 2012 @ 9:53 pm

    Back to basics, and keeping it simple. This look like a wonderful book. Thanks for sharing and keeping us informed! We learn something new everyday, as it should be.

  365. 365

    Cory V — April 12, 2012 @ 9:54 pm

    The book look fabulous and thanks for the giving us a great review of it! It is definitely going on my wish list.

  366. 366

    Jennifer S — April 12, 2012 @ 10:01 pm

    I’ve been hearing lots of good things about this book and would love to win a copy! Thanks for the review, the recipe and the giveaway! :)

  367. 367

    jenna! — April 12, 2012 @ 10:02 pm

    I would love this book! I love making things!

  368. 368

    Marisa — April 12, 2012 @ 10:21 pm

    I’ve been enjoying your blog for a while now. This book sounds lovely, and a great reminder that I need to make some time to make some of these pantry standards.

  369. 369

    Elisa — April 12, 2012 @ 10:34 pm

    I have really enjoyed reading and checking out the Healthy Green Kitchen. I love to make as much as possible from scratch and would like to check out Alana’s book!

  370. 370

    Jessica — April 12, 2012 @ 10:44 pm

    Sounds like my kind of book!! :)

  371. 371

    eviefranklin — April 12, 2012 @ 10:51 pm

    This book looks fabulous as does the vanilla pudding. Would lve a copy of the book.

  372. 372

    Katherine Ropp — April 12, 2012 @ 11:35 pm

    This looks like a fabulous book!

  373. 373

    Mary@FitandFed — April 12, 2012 @ 11:42 pm

    Making my own nut butters now: next on my list, making soy milk and almond milk. Thanks for the pudding recipe: I have a big jug of milk left over from house guests that I need to do something with. If I make the milk into a pudding it will disappear.

  374. 374

    llp — April 12, 2012 @ 11:53 pm

    I have now realized I have never made vanilla pudding, only chocolate – how strange. Thank you for sharing, the book sounds lovely.

  375. 375

    Chickenjulie — April 12, 2012 @ 11:54 pm

    Oh, here’s hoping! It sounds like an amazing book!!! xo

  376. 376

    Deb Blee — April 12, 2012 @ 11:55 pm

    definitely going to try that recipe soon- so easy and pudding skin is the best part is it not!? thanks for sharing – I can not imagine a book like that not being well loved!

  377. 377

    Yafa — April 12, 2012 @ 11:57 pm

    Wow, all those recipes you describe sound wonderful! I would love to have this cookbook. We most recently tried home made beer battered shrimp that we pan fried.

  378. 378

    Dee — April 13, 2012 @ 12:59 am

    This book is going into my TBR. It looks fabulous. Definitely a kick in the rear to remember not to buy all the processed foods that I can actually make at home instead.

  379. 379

    Micaela P. — April 13, 2012 @ 1:21 am

    I would love this book! I really want to start making specialty mustards & condiments to give out as gifts, so this would help.

    I also wanted to tell you that I love those cups you photographed the pudding in, the glazing is stunning!

  380. 380

    Ann — April 13, 2012 @ 1:52 am

    The pudding looks so delicious! I would love to win a copy of this wonderful book.

  381. 381

    Jennifer — April 13, 2012 @ 7:07 am

    The book looks amazing! Definitely going to try the pudding first!

  382. 382

    Sarah — April 13, 2012 @ 7:08 am

    That pudding looks beautiful!

  383. 383

    Theresa Murphy — April 13, 2012 @ 7:43 am

    I love to make things from scratch for my family and this would be a fabulous addition to my cookbook library!

  384. 384

    laurie — April 13, 2012 @ 8:33 am

    This is a book I’m definitely getting one way or another. Just read Alana’s piece in Living with the recipe for toaster pastries. My kind of book! Thanks for the giveaway.

  385. 385

    Amanda Thompson — April 13, 2012 @ 10:04 am

    This sounds like a great cookbook!

  386. 386

    Kristin — April 13, 2012 @ 10:28 am

    I so want to try every recipe in this cookbook. I might never leave the kitchen again!

  387. 387

    Jennie — April 13, 2012 @ 10:59 am

    I would love to add this to my cookbook stash to help my family eat more “real” foods! Thanks!!

  388. 388

    Sandra — April 13, 2012 @ 11:11 am

    I couldn’t just scroll by the pudding recipe, especially with those gorgeous blackberries! But I really like the idea of “make-your-own.”

  389. 389

    shauna — April 13, 2012 @ 11:20 am

    I would love a copy!

  390. 390

    Amanda — April 13, 2012 @ 11:22 am

    I’d love to win this! This looks like such a great book!

  391. 391

    Cathie — April 13, 2012 @ 11:27 am

    Would totally love this book. It’s hard for an old dog like me to learn to make the things that I’ve been used to buying; but it’s also getting harder to read the tiny print of the ingredients on the packaging.

  392. 392

    Cynthia in Denver — April 13, 2012 @ 11:30 am

    I am drawn to this book everytime I visit the Tattered Cover bookstore here in Denver. However, I must contemplate my budget everytime and alas, I am still without. I just caress the book and daydream about being the suzy homemaker capable of creating her delectables!

  393. 393

    Stacy @ Every Little Thing — April 13, 2012 @ 11:34 am

    What a fantastic idea for a cookbook! Her blog is great and I’m happy to be introduced to it.

  394. 394

    Hannah — April 13, 2012 @ 11:53 am

    Your photos are stunning, as always, Winnie! I definitely want to make this pudding. I was just looking at The Homemade Pantry at our local cookbook shop and added it to my wish list – I can see why you couldn’t put it down!

  395. 395

    Bethany — April 13, 2012 @ 11:56 am

    This cookbook looks like it would be a great addition to any kitchen!

  396. 396

    Lisa — April 13, 2012 @ 12:09 pm

    My first visit to your site — so lovely. This book looks amazing. I can’t wait to win :)

  397. 397

    Leona — April 13, 2012 @ 12:10 pm

    Dessert doesn’t get much simpler than this! Looks delicious.

  398. 398

    Jeanne — April 13, 2012 @ 12:22 pm

    granola bars and pudding – both can be made gluten free with Alana’s recipes….oh this cookbook looks yummy!

  399. 399

    Tracy — April 13, 2012 @ 12:26 pm

    Looks yummy. Book sounds great

  400. 400

    Jet — April 13, 2012 @ 12:31 pm

    Just started getting turned on by using fresh produce to can and preserve. I love the concept of this book to show me how I can utilize other things in my home kitchen. Please enter me in the drawing… looks like the odds are getting bigger :(.

  401. 401

    ELLEN — April 13, 2012 @ 12:36 pm

    sounds like a cook book I would love!

  402. 402

    Cinnie — April 13, 2012 @ 12:52 pm

    Pudding…mmmmm. I need to make this.

  403. 403

    Chris — April 13, 2012 @ 12:53 pm

    Mmmmmhhhhh……Pudding. I’m jealous that you found such nice berries!

  404. 404

    Alexis — April 13, 2012 @ 1:43 pm

    This book sounds perfect for me – like you I would read it cover to cover. I am always amazed at just how easy it is to make many of the things we buy – for example the pudding, which is 100% better if you make it at home!

  405. 405

    Deb — April 13, 2012 @ 1:54 pm

    I’d love a copy of this great book! But I am enamored of your delightful pudding photos. The stoneware mugs are irresistible!

  406. 406

    Jan — April 13, 2012 @ 2:30 pm

    This looks like one of those “must have” cookbooks. I love the granola bars over on Marisa’s Food in Jars blog. This pudding looks fantastic too.

  407. 407

    Karen — April 13, 2012 @ 3:17 pm

    This looks like an amazing cookbook! That pudding looks delicious…

  408. 408

    Lina — April 13, 2012 @ 3:49 pm

    I would LOVE to win a copy of this cookbook! Due to some recent allergy discoveries, I have been making a lot more things from scratch than I used to. It would be so wonderful to experiment more with her recipes!

  409. 409

    Debbie — April 13, 2012 @ 4:15 pm

    I have been doing homemade for a long time. This would make a wonderful addition to my cookbook library.

  410. 410

    The Weekend Homesteader — April 13, 2012 @ 5:50 pm

    I love cookbooks, and this one looks top notch!

  411. 411

    Taylor — April 13, 2012 @ 6:16 pm

    Oooh this cookbook looks like a good one!!

  412. 412

    Louisa — April 13, 2012 @ 6:24 pm

    ooh, I would love to have a copy of this book!!

  413. 413

    Teresa — April 13, 2012 @ 6:34 pm

    Pick me please! lol…if I don’t win, I’m seriously going to think about buying it and I don’t buy many cookbooks!

  414. 414

    Kate — April 13, 2012 @ 7:41 pm

    This book looks so good!

  415. 415

    Charlene — April 13, 2012 @ 8:10 pm

    With so many of us are trying to incorporate only real foods and ingredients in our cooking, it’s nice to see a compilation of ideas like this!

  416. 416

    Sara — April 13, 2012 @ 8:47 pm

    That puuding looks great, as does the book. Thanks for the opportunity to win one.

  417. 417

    Diana — April 13, 2012 @ 8:55 pm

    food blogs and cook books are my secret indulgence!

  418. 418

    Gina in RI — April 13, 2012 @ 9:05 pm

    I am very interested in the cookbook, it sounds wonderful. Thank you for this drawing!

  419. 419

    Debby — April 13, 2012 @ 9:08 pm

    I’ve been trying to make more things from scratch and get away from all the pre-processed stuff. This book sounds wonderful!. Thanks for the chance.

  420. 420

    Megan — April 13, 2012 @ 9:14 pm

    Really interesting looking book – I definitely need to check it out!

  421. 421

    Christa H — April 13, 2012 @ 9:18 pm

    I would love this! I teach foods classes to 9th graders so this would help a lot

  422. 422

    Lori — April 13, 2012 @ 9:36 pm

    Wow, this cookbook looks terrific! And your blog is pretty great too :-)

  423. 423

    Gillian — April 13, 2012 @ 10:24 pm

    Mmmm. Pick me!

  424. 424

    Kaye — April 13, 2012 @ 10:51 pm

    If I don’t win this drawing, I’m going to drop some serious hints for my upcoming birthday!

  425. 425

    Cate P. — April 13, 2012 @ 11:29 pm

    Wow – that looks amazing!! If I don’t win it will definitely go on my gift idea list for my birthday!!

  426. 426

    Sweet Jeanette — April 14, 2012 @ 12:02 am

    Oh my! I’m thrilled (and hopeful!) about this giveaway! Thank you for offering such a wonderful gift!! Do include me!!!

  427. 427

    Loree — April 14, 2012 @ 12:10 am

    Your pudding looks beautiful and delicious! Thank you for the giveaway! :)

  428. 428

    Joy — April 14, 2012 @ 12:20 am

    So much for sleeping tonight.
    My iPhone will be dead by morning since i can’t quit reading these blogs.
    How fabulous!
    Sleep is overrated I guess….or maybe it was self control that’s overrated, lol!

  429. 429

    Tracy — April 14, 2012 @ 12:46 am

    Wow, sounds amazing! I came over because of ‘Food in Jars’ :)

  430. 430

    Carolsue — April 14, 2012 @ 1:51 am

    I have seen this book and it is awesome! I would absolutely love to win a copy! Thanks for the chance.

  431. 431

    Kristen M. — April 14, 2012 @ 2:31 am

    I’ve just been browsing Alana’s blog and I’d love a copy of her book. I like her style – healthy homemade food with a dose of reality. I love that she’s a bit of a messy cook…not unlike myself.

  432. 432

    cindy — April 14, 2012 @ 7:29 am

    would love to win this cookbook. Thanks for the chance.

  433. 433

    Jennifer — April 14, 2012 @ 9:25 am

    This book looks amazing. Thanks for hosting!

  434. 434

    Lorii Abela — April 14, 2012 @ 9:59 am

    Definitely, I want to win a copy of the book. Thanks for this opportunity.. Really looks yummy!..

  435. 435

    Heather R — April 14, 2012 @ 10:22 am

    OOOOOH, sounds like something I would love. Would love to get it even if I don’t win, but it sure would be a nice present. Thanks for such a great blog. (this may be my second comment-sorry if so- couldn’t remember if I did the first one!)

  436. 436

    Neil — April 14, 2012 @ 10:28 am

    mmm, that pudding looks delicious!

  437. 437

    MelodyJ — April 14, 2012 @ 10:36 am

    The pudding looks good!

    melodyj(at)gmail(dot)com

  438. 438

    Tanya — April 14, 2012 @ 11:04 am

    I have already requested this book at my local library, but I can tell I will want to own it. Signing up for your blog…

  439. 439

    rebecca — April 14, 2012 @ 11:36 am

    my kitchen and I would love a copy of this book!

  440. 440

    Debbie — April 14, 2012 @ 12:32 pm

    I would love this book!

  441. 441

    Kim — April 14, 2012 @ 1:12 pm

    Looks awesome. Would love to win!

  442. 442

    jonquil — April 14, 2012 @ 2:12 pm

    This book sounds amazing! I would love to win a copy. Lovely mugs for the pudding, btw.

  443. 443

    Kim — April 14, 2012 @ 2:31 pm

    Just wanted to add that I just made this and it tastes great already!( still has to chill)

  444. 444

    Greta — April 14, 2012 @ 3:06 pm

    Sometimes a brilliant cookbook is all you need for the perfect inspiration. I love the idea of it being a story!

  445. 445

    Ivory — April 14, 2012 @ 3:53 pm

    I want to make granola bars. Pick me!

  446. 446

    Amy — April 14, 2012 @ 5:26 pm

    This sounds like a PERFECT book for my bookshelf – though it sounds like it wouldn’t sit there much at all!

  447. 447

    Marina — April 14, 2012 @ 6:24 pm

    This book sounds amazing! I have spent the last several months trying to be more self sufficient and trying to do without processed foods this book would be a great help. Thanks for the chance to win!!!!
    I am making pudding tonight looks great!

  448. 448

    Danielle — April 14, 2012 @ 6:30 pm

    The books looks amazing! As does your vanilla pudding! I made low-fat choc pudding this weekend, thanks to an older Cooks Country recipe. No lweird low-fat ingredients necessary (it actually calls for whole milk), I think they just call it that becuz there are no eggs to fatten things up. Actually, it’s pretty identical to your vanilla, plus 2 oz bittersweet choc and 3T cocoa. yum!

  449. 449

    Stephanie H — April 14, 2012 @ 6:39 pm

    This book encapsulates every ideal that I have for food!

  450. 450

    Brandi — April 14, 2012 @ 7:37 pm

    I want this boooooook!!!!!!

  451. 451

    TrishB — April 14, 2012 @ 8:51 pm

    Please please please please please please pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaase!

  452. 452

    Kyrie — April 14, 2012 @ 9:20 pm

    WANT!!

  453. 453

    Thea Calhoun — April 14, 2012 @ 10:04 pm

    Just got introduced to your website, looking forward to discovering and making some of your delicious foods!

  454. 454

    Carolyn — April 14, 2012 @ 10:13 pm

    It’s ironic that you would post her puding recipe as I turned on the computer looking for exactly that-a homemade pudding recipe. And there it is…Thanks!

  455. 455

    Jeanna Akey — April 14, 2012 @ 10:39 pm

    I usually don’t enter contests but after reading Marisa’s post and seeing how easy the recipes looked (my boys LOVE granola bars and I’m too chicken to try my hand at them) AND seeing your yummy post I figured why not give it a shot.

  456. 456

    Brighid — April 14, 2012 @ 10:40 pm

    I found your site on an evening of wonderful recipe reading and it sounds like The Homemade Pantry would be perfect for hours of reading and cooking!

  457. 457

    Becky Guinn — April 15, 2012 @ 3:02 am

    I have started looking for ways to make some of my own convenience foods–this book seems to be a great fit for that!

  458. 458

    Ben — April 15, 2012 @ 8:18 am

    this might be the next MUST HAVE cookbook!

  459. 459

    Erica Spencer — April 15, 2012 @ 8:42 am

    This sounds like a great book. If I don’t win, I’ll probably buy it anyway. :) Thans for the review and yummy recipe sample!

  460. 460

    Wende — April 15, 2012 @ 8:54 am

    This book is so inspiring! I can’t wait to get my hands on it, and start trying out these fab recipes. :)

  461. 461

    Kacy — April 15, 2012 @ 9:26 am

    This looks amazing!

  462. 462

    Kerry — April 15, 2012 @ 9:53 am

    This sounds like a cookbook for my collection!

  463. 463

    Jessen — April 15, 2012 @ 10:46 am

    Sounds like a Winning Cookbook that I’d definitely make lots of use of!

  464. 464

    mikio — April 15, 2012 @ 10:59 am

    wow! this book looks great

  465. 465

    Maura — April 15, 2012 @ 11:03 am

    Ok… I’ve seen reviews of this book on a few sites.
    I’m going to hope for a giveaway win… but if not, I need to buy this AS FAST AS POSSIBLE.

    Thanks for the giveaway!!!

  466. 466

    Sandi — April 15, 2012 @ 11:29 am

    This cookbook is destined to be well-used and covered with splatters in my kitchen!

  467. 467

    Zoe Packman — April 15, 2012 @ 2:24 pm

    Looks delicious!

  468. 468

    Deborah B — April 15, 2012 @ 2:42 pm

    This looks like a wonderful book! I would love the chance to thumb through a copy and try the recipies.

  469. 469

    Tina Abert — April 15, 2012 @ 3:11 pm

    I have just started cooking again…not for the kids (ummmmm….they are now 20somethings…Yipes!), but for my sweetie and me. We need good, easy to prep foods that are not to expensive. Would love to win this book and give the recipes a go.

    thanks

  470. 470

    Abigail Bruxvoort — April 15, 2012 @ 4:08 pm

    Oh my! As others have commented, this book is going on my Amazon wish-list, and if I’m not fortunate enough to win a copy, I think I’ll buy one. It looks so good!

  471. 471

    Rosy — April 15, 2012 @ 6:07 pm

    I’m adding this book to my collection win or not!

  472. 472

    Chris — April 15, 2012 @ 8:02 pm

    Looks awesome! Gotta make that pudding.

    • Chris replied: — April 15th, 2012 @ 8:03 pm

      This was me but had a typo int the email address

  473. 473

    Chris — April 15, 2012 @ 8:03 pm

    Looks awesome.

  474. 474

    Alyssa M. — April 15, 2012 @ 8:09 pm

    I would love to learn how to make the things that are in my pantry! Especially pop tarts and pasta! Oh and cheese! (Love your pudding vessels btw-so gorgeous!)

  475. 475

    sandhya — April 15, 2012 @ 8:23 pm

    wish I could win.Love the recipe

  476. 476

    Kristin — April 15, 2012 @ 8:47 pm

    This sounds like a great cookbook to add to my collection!!!

  477. 477

    Janet — April 15, 2012 @ 8:48 pm

    I’d love to make homemade ricotta and cream cheese!

  478. 478

    Megan — April 15, 2012 @ 8:58 pm

    Sounds like a great cookbook! Love this site.

  479. 479

    Cori — April 15, 2012 @ 9:00 pm

    Would love to win the book!

  480. 480

    Hannah — April 15, 2012 @ 9:23 pm

    It would be so incredible to win a copy of this book! Looks like an incredible resource.

  481. 481

    Amy — April 16, 2012 @ 12:15 am

    Wow, what a wonderful cookbook! I bet there are tons of great practical, handy recipes to oogle over :)

  482. 482

    Nina — April 16, 2012 @ 1:48 am

    Looks like a wonderful cookbook.

  483. 483

    Kate — April 16, 2012 @ 2:29 am

    Mmm pudding looks wonderful & the cookbook sounds like fun!!

  484. 484

    Audrey — April 16, 2012 @ 2:42 am

    The book sounds amazing and the pudding looks great! Thanks for the giveaway!

  485. 485

    Rachel Cooks (formerly Not Rachael Ray) — April 16, 2012 @ 8:38 am

    This pudding looks so good, and I love, love, love those dishes!

  486. 486

    Michelle — April 16, 2012 @ 10:01 am

    Sounds like a great book!

  487. 487

    Sam — April 16, 2012 @ 10:48 am

    I’m so excited about this book, it’s on my list of books I need to get soon! I’ve gotten several new cookbooks recently, though, so I might have to wait a bit… :(

  488. 488

    amisha — April 16, 2012 @ 10:50 am

    this looks like a great book!

  489. 489

    amanda — April 16, 2012 @ 10:56 am

    Sounds like a fascinating read! I’ll have to try that Chai blend she includes on the Amazon page too–perhaps some chai pudding?! :)

  490. 490

    connecticutgirl — April 16, 2012 @ 11:14 am

    The first time I made lasagna I was living overseas where it was not possible to find ricotta, sauce or lasagna noodles in a grocery store. A friend passed me a recipe of how to make the ricotta, a simple recipe for the noodles that were like crepes and of course an easy recipe for the sauce. Ever since then, I am a snob about buying ricotta, and when I encounter packages of ricotta and other cheese things I always wonder how long it could have possible been sitting on the grocery store shelf, or what they may have added to keep it from going bad on the shelf. Since then, when I see a recipe with store bought ingredients, I automatically pass…. I think I am becoming a food snob. Anyway I would love the book, and the drawing happens to be on my birthday!! fingers crossed xxx

  491. 491

    Deborah — April 16, 2012 @ 11:16 am

    Wow, this cookbook sounds great! A new cookbook with natural, healthy
    ingredients is always a welcome addition on my bookshelf.

  492. 492

    ten b — April 16, 2012 @ 11:55 am

    this looks like a wonderful book. thanks for the chance to win it.

  493. 493

    Chef CJHenry — April 16, 2012 @ 11:59 am

    Love it,going to add this to my offerings to the clients I Cook for,keep them comming,its a book I need to add to my collection,thank you.

  494. 494

    Cary — April 16, 2012 @ 12:12 pm

    So excited about this cookbook!

  495. 495

    Lauren — April 16, 2012 @ 12:25 pm

    Oh my! Yes please, yes please!

  496. 496

    Jo-Anne Koiter — April 16, 2012 @ 12:25 pm

    These look great recipes to have as part of our repitoire.

  497. 497

    Deb @ knitstamatic — April 16, 2012 @ 12:35 pm

    Sounds like a book I MUST add to my collection! I just love the mugs you’ve placed the pudding in.

  498. 498

    Shawn — April 16, 2012 @ 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway. So excited for more real food recipes!

  499. 499

    Francis — April 16, 2012 @ 3:42 pm

    Lovely book! Hope I win!

  500. 500

    Emily — April 16, 2012 @ 3:45 pm

    I would just *love* to win!

  501. 501

    Michelle — April 16, 2012 @ 4:00 pm

    Oh, I would be unstoppable then! I am dying to pick up this cookbook, and stop just bumbling my way around through my kitchen (not that my failures aren’t pretty darn tasty anyway)

  502. 502

    e — April 16, 2012 @ 4:11 pm

    I would love to out these recipes! I’m not a great cook, or even an adventurous one, but I’m game to try!

    What does the bottom of that spoon look like? The handle is so unique…

  503. 503

    Pam — April 16, 2012 @ 4:13 pm

    I am going to get a copy of this cookbook one way or another…hopefully by winning it here! Can’t wait to make the granola bar recipe!

  504. 504

    Grace — April 16, 2012 @ 4:52 pm

    I need this book. I was embarrassed last night because we were watching a cooking show and I was the only one who had ever seen a vanilla bean before. I have work to do here!

  505. 505

    Elle — April 16, 2012 @ 5:21 pm

    Every day I hear more positive comments about this book! Oooo I want one!

    Cheers!

  506. 506

    kaela — April 16, 2012 @ 6:30 pm

    This one is on my list: it looks very special. Big congrats to Alana!

  507. 507

    lauren b — April 16, 2012 @ 6:35 pm

    This one is on my wishlist already! Would looooooove love love it!

  508. 508

    Susan — April 16, 2012 @ 7:05 pm

    I hope I win! The book sounds wonderful.

  509. 509

    Megan — April 16, 2012 @ 7:49 pm

    Ooh I would love to win!

  510. 510

    Felecia — April 16, 2012 @ 8:08 pm

    Oh. My. I’ve heard rave reviews of the book. Thank you so much for the opportunity to win a copy. Woo hoo!

  511. 511

    Nancy — April 16, 2012 @ 8:17 pm

    I love your blog and would love a cookbook! I am still using some of my mother’s canning equipment and I smile and cry at the same time when remembering all the canning she did for our family. Thanks for the chance to win.

  512. 512

    Jessica — April 16, 2012 @ 8:23 pm

    What a fabulous giveaway! I plan on purchasing this book if I don’t win.

  513. 513

    margaret christine @ notes from maggie's farm — April 16, 2012 @ 8:42 pm

    I’m with Jessica, above. Sounds like the kind of book I’d read, and cook, cover to cover. And what a lovely blog you have, too.

  514. 514

    Joy Pak — April 16, 2012 @ 8:44 pm

    This looks delicious and I would love to win a cookbook

  515. 515

    Debbien Hanse — April 16, 2012 @ 9:09 pm

    Would love to win!!!

  516. 516

    Devon H — April 16, 2012 @ 9:36 pm

    This sounds fabulous! I would love to win a copy. :-)

  517. 517

    Bama Girl — April 16, 2012 @ 10:09 pm

    I love your website! Your photography is beautiful! I would like to be entered in the giveaway for Alana’s book. Blessings from Bama!

  518. 518

    Missy — April 16, 2012 @ 10:10 pm

    What a lovely book! I love making things homemade and can’t wait to take a peek at it. Thanks for the opportunity to win

  519. 519

    Sophie — April 16, 2012 @ 10:53 pm

    Ugh! This pudding looks so good! I’m definitely going to be making this as soon as I can!

  520. 520

    Laura (Tutti Dolci) — April 16, 2012 @ 11:59 pm

    I love anything vanilla and I love pudding topped with fresh berries, too!

  521. 521

    Liz — April 17, 2012 @ 12:00 am

    This looks like an amazing cookbook–I would love to win it!

  522. 522

    Margie J — April 17, 2012 @ 2:35 am

    Would this work substituting Almond Milk? Love the pictures! Looks so good I could taste it

  523. 523

    Jamie — April 17, 2012 @ 7:37 am

    This book sounds fascinating and wonderful! I am guilty of being a lazy cook and buying everything possible. I should really be making more of almost everything from scratch! Would love a copy of this book. And I want vanilla pudding. I have only made chocolate and coffee but vanilla pudding does sound perfect with blackberries or any summer berries! Beautiful photos!

  524. 524

    JennW — April 17, 2012 @ 10:21 am

    I would love to have a copy of this book!

  525. 525

    Camille — April 17, 2012 @ 10:28 am

    THIS! I love this blog and totally want this cookbook.

  526. 526

    Lamia — April 17, 2012 @ 11:06 am

    This book looks amazing!

  527. 527

    Michelle S — April 17, 2012 @ 11:42 am

    What an amazing concept for a book! I’ve been making an effort to buy fewer processed foods and make as much as I can myself, and this would be a welcome addition to my library!

  528. 528

    Rosamond — April 17, 2012 @ 12:28 pm

    Would love a copy, have just wishlisted it. Sounds like a great resource and every bit of good advice helps.
    Thank you for the blog and wonderful recipes too!

  529. 529

    DJ — April 17, 2012 @ 1:20 pm

    Oh Wow. Sounds like a really great cookbook.

  530. 530

    Kate Thomas — April 17, 2012 @ 1:28 pm

    your blog is beautiful… and the recipe is lovely… i would love a copy of the book..

  531. 531

    Sarah Mudder — April 17, 2012 @ 2:20 pm

    Looking forward to reading this awesome new book!

  532. 532

    katie — April 17, 2012 @ 4:10 pm

    I want this book! I have a eleven month old baby boy that I want to make more food for instead of buying so much junk from the store. This book seems like it would help me do that.

  533. 533

    Mairsydoats — April 17, 2012 @ 4:14 pm

    What a great-sounding book! I’d love to explore it at my leisure!!

  534. 534

    Heather — April 17, 2012 @ 4:18 pm

    I am in love with this book and I already make most of our food instead of buying packaged. Thanks for sharing this and I’m so glad I found your blog.

  535. 535

    Mary — April 17, 2012 @ 4:36 pm

    This book sounds really great.

  536. 536

    Anna@Tallgrasskitchen — April 17, 2012 @ 10:23 pm

    Was about to buy the book, but maybe I’ll try to win it first!

  537. 537

    Natalie — April 18, 2012 @ 1:07 am

    That recipe sounds delicious. I love that there isn’t a ton of sugar in it. I’d love to see what other new recipes are in that cookbook!

  538. 538

    CHAR SLOVENZ — April 18, 2012 @ 5:11 pm

    What’s not to love? Life is hard and if you can give someone help, peace,pleasure why not?

  539. 539

    Lela Dougal — April 21, 2012 @ 9:06 pm

    I left one previous.

  540. 540

    Lela Dougal — April 21, 2012 @ 9:07 pm

    I am intrigued by your violet jelly. I would love to make it, I am 78 y/o & still love to make jellies & jams.

  541. 541

    Lela Dougal — April 21, 2012 @ 9:08 pm

    I am intrigued by your violet jelly. I am 78 y/o & still love to make jellies & jams, what a “free” find.

  542. 542

    Lela Dougal — April 21, 2012 @ 9:10 pm

    I am intrigued by your recipe with violets in jelly. I am 78 y/o & still love to make jams & jellies. I would love to win your book.

  543. 543

    Pat Cook — April 22, 2012 @ 11:38 am

    Hi, I am an older single lady about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. I am in the process of redoing my life and my home in order to adopt a family of 12 children and to bring thier grandmother with us if she is willing to move away from the cold north to the milder weather of Oklahoma. I have always wanted to adopt and now that is possible. We will be raising a lot of our own food including meat so I am looking for new wonderful recipies that will make the kids come running when the dinner bell is rung. I love canning and cooking and hope to teach the kids how to put up thier own food and to be proud and indepent people. Just this sampling of the recipes in this book have convinced me that I must have it as soon as I have money for something for myself. It would be wonderful to win a copy so the kids could browse through it. I go to bed exausted at night pictureing the kids in my mind a smile on my face and figureing out the next move in this wonderful adventure and life changeing experience.

  544. 544

    Sarah S. — April 25, 2012 @ 9:48 pm

    Yay! I’ve been trying to do this piecemeal for a while now, but to have a book with so many great recipes all in one place…that would possibly be heaven…or at least a lot of help!

  545. 545

    {giveaway & event} Alana is coming *back* to town! | FROM SCRATCH CLUB — July 1, 2012 @ 11:53 am

    [...] Tea & Cookies Food In Jars Serious Eats Small Measure Healthy Green Kitchen [...]

Leave a Comment