I love honey: when Casey from Kitchen Play asked me if I’d like to do a compensated Pampered Pantry review post about items from Honey Ridge Farms, I was extremely happy to do so.

Honey Ridge Farms is a small company in Washington state that sells artisanal honey and honey products. They are committed to creating unique specialty foods with honey from local beekeepers, and they donate some of their profits to research that promotes bee colony health (more about Honey Ridge Farms).

So I love what they stand for, and I really enjoyed putting three of their delicious, all-natural items to use in my kitchen.

I sampled the Cranberry Chutney Honey Glaze, the Spiced Honey Crème, and the Balsamic Honey Vinegar.

The Cranberry Chutney Honey Glaze is great when used to make a dressing for greens or other salads. You could mix it with a spicy component to get a sweet sauce with a little kick; it’s also terrific simply brushed onto fish or poultry before cooking, as in the roast chicken recipe below.

Roast Chicken is one of my absolute favorite meals, and cooking the chicken atop a skillet full of vegetables is my favorite method for getting the job done. In this recipe, you gently loosen the skin of the chicken so you can rub the honey glaze over the meat, so it stays remarkably tender and gets infused with extra flavor. Then you liberally brush more glaze all over the top of the skin: the result is bird with perfect color and crisp skin. As a bonus, the fat from the chicken skin and some of the glaze drips down over the vegetables so they are slathered in tasty goodness. You can feel free to use different vegetables, but I wouldn’t skip the potatoes: they are particularly delicious when cooked this way.

Cranberry Chutney Honey Glazed Roast Chicken and Vegetables

Ingredients:

* 1 whole chicken (approx. 3 pounds), preferably organic and free-range
* 4 tablespoons Cranberry Chutney Honey Glaze, plus more if necessary
* coarse sea salt
* freshly ground black pepper
* 4 sprigs fresh thyme
* 1 lemon, preferably a Meyer lemon, sliced in half
* 4 small red or white potatoes, cut into quarters (or use a bunch of tiny fingerling potatoes)
* 2 large carrots, peeled if not organic (otherwise scrubbed very well) and chopped (or use 6-8 small carrots, chopped)
* 6-8 jerusalem artichokes, scrubbed very well and chopped (substitute 1-2 chopped parsnips, if desired)
* 2 leeks, trimmed and cleaned very well, then chopped
* 6 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced in half
* 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Fill your cast-iron skillet (or small roasting pan) with the vegetables and garlic. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

2. Remove giblets from chicken and rinse very well inside and out. Pat completely dry. Stuff the cavity of the chicken with the thyme and the sliced lemon. Gently slather the chutney under the skin of the chicken (and then brush on top of the skin as well). Sprinkle liberally with coarse salt and pepper.
Truss the chicken if you so desire (I am usually to lazy to do so).

3. Place the chicken on top of the vegetables breast side down. Roast for 30 minutes.

4. Turn the chicken over and brush with more of the chutney. Roast for another 20-30 minutes, depending on the size of the chicken, until it is nicely browned all over and cooked through.

5. Remove the pan from the oven and allow 15 minutes or so for the chicken to cool before serving.

The Balsamic Honey Vinegar is an award-winning product made entirely from honey (not from grapes). It’s lovely as the acid component in any and all dressings and works nicely over raw or cooked vegetables as well as with rice and all grain-based salads. I used it to enhance the syrup of the baked pears in the recipe below.

The Spiced Honey Creme is a creamed honey embellished with cinnamon and additional spices. It can be used anywhere you’d use honey: I love it in my morning tea and it’s wonderful on gluten-free or regular toast with or without a little organic butter. It’s nice when used in a small quantity in a dressing for roasted root vegetables and of course it’s a natural in any dessert recipe (like these baked pears).

Honey and Cyser Baked Pears with Spiced Honey Creme Fraiche

In this simple recipe, sweet comice pears are baked with a liquid comprised of melted butter, pear cyser, and spiced honey creme. Cyser is like Mead, a fermented honey wine with a very long history, only the honey is fermented with apple (or in this case, pear) cider. Cyser has a much more delicate flavor than typical hard cider. The one I used was from Long Island Meadery; if you can’t find cyser, substitute a fruity dessert wine appropriate for cooking (like Riesling), or use pear juice/nectar.

Ingredients:

*3 tablespoons organic butter
*1 cup pear cyser
*1/4 cup plus 1-2 tablespoons spiced honey crème
*5 ripe (but not soft) comice pears, ends trimmed, peeled, and sliced in half
*2 tablespoons balsamic honey vinegar
*1/2 cup crème fraîche

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Combine butter, cyser, and 1/4 cup honey crème in small pot on the stove. Heat until everything is liquified.

3. Remove the core and pits from each pear with a melon baller or or a metal spoon. Place pears cut side down in a suitable sized baking dish and cover with the cyser mixture.

4. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 25-30 minutes. Allow to cool slightly, and then pour the liquid back from the baking pan back into a small pot on the stove.

4. Add the honey balsamic vinegar and bring the liquid to a boil. Allow to reduce by 1/2, then pour back over the pears.

5. Whip the crème fraîche with the honey creme.

6. Serve guests 2-3 pears halves, with some of the sauce poured over, and some of the whipped crème fraîche on top.

Giveaway Info:

Honey Ridge Farms will give one lucky Healthy Green Kitchen reader the exact same products I used to make the recipes above. Entering the giveaway is simple: here’s what you have to do…

1. Leave me a comment letting me know about your favorite way to use honey in the kitchen.

2. For a second entry, “Like” Kitchen Play on Facebook. Hey, while you’re at it, you might as well like Healthy Green Kitchen, too! Then come back and leave a comment letting me know that you did so.

3. For a third entry, follow Kitchen Play and me on Twitter. Then leave a comment letting me know that you did so.

This giveaway ends Sunday, November 14th 2010 at midnight (EST) and is only open to US residents. Winner will be chosen using random.org…thanks for entering and good luck!

 

54 Comments

  1. 1

    Lana @ Never Enough Thyme — November 10, 2010 @ 8:29 am

    Lovely products! And two fantastic recipes to boot. I’ve never heard of honey vinegar or honey creme but would just love an opportunity to try both. Beautiful review, Winnie.

  2. 2

    megan @ whatmegansmaking — November 10, 2010 @ 8:33 am

    I most often use honey when baking bread. I love honey in bread! I have a great honey oat quick bread recipe that I love to make.

  3. 3

    megan @ whatmegansmaking — November 10, 2010 @ 8:33 am

    And I follow both you and kitchen play on twitter! (whatmegansmakng)

  4. 4

    Tweets that mention Honey Ridge Farms Pampered Pantry Review, Recipes, and Giveaway | Healthy Green Kitchen -- Topsy.com — November 10, 2010 @ 8:58 am

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sue Shannon and kitchen play, Winnie Abramson. Winnie Abramson said: Honey Ridge Farms artisanal honey products review, with recipes and a giveaway! (for @kitchen_play 's Pampered Pantry http://su.pr/2f2QMr [...]

  5. 5

    Mags@OtherSideOf50 — November 10, 2010 @ 9:18 am

    What a beautiful looking bird!

  6. 6

    CaraCakes — November 10, 2010 @ 9:33 am

    I use honey to make homemade honey whole wheat bread for my family. Yum!

  7. 7

    dbcurrie — November 10, 2010 @ 10:40 am

    I use honey in breadbaking. It adds flavor that you don’t get with sugar or other sweeteners. Just a small amount makes a big difference in taste.

  8. 8

    dbcurrie — November 10, 2010 @ 10:41 am

    I followed Kitchen Play on FB.

  9. 9

    Becky — November 10, 2010 @ 11:15 am

    I use honey in just about everything, as I substitute it for refined white sugar. I especially like it in my homemade granola! and I love it drizzled on my morning bagel….

  10. 10

    Nive — November 10, 2010 @ 11:57 am

    I add honey as a substitute for sugar in baking cakes and sweet breads…Thanks for this giveaway…

  11. 11

    Nive — November 10, 2010 @ 11:58 am

    I like you on FB…

  12. 12

    Jennifer — November 10, 2010 @ 12:37 pm

    I love honey in everything. But my favorite is in tea. So soothing!

  13. 13

    Jennifer — November 10, 2010 @ 12:38 pm

    I follow you on Facebook – now Kitchen Play too.

  14. 14

    Kristina @ spabettie — November 10, 2010 @ 1:30 pm

    my favorite way to use honey is in brewing beer !! :D I also love to make a honey butter to use on warm toast… Mmm…

  15. 15

    Ashlie — November 10, 2010 @ 2:18 pm

    Honey is my go to sweetener – I use it most often in salad dressings, because I eat salad pretty much everyday. But my favorite way to use honey is mixed with some pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – it makes an awesome glaze for chiken, and like you, I love a good roasted chicken!

  16. 16

    Ashlie — November 10, 2010 @ 2:18 pm

    I am a FB fan of healthy green kitchen!

  17. 17

    Jenna — November 10, 2010 @ 3:00 pm

    I love to use honey in the traditional aspect of on top of a crumbly biscuit. I could eat that for every meal, everyday for the rest of my life. Honeys come in savory and sweet so you can never be bored.

  18. 18

    Kristen — November 10, 2010 @ 3:01 pm

    My favorite way to eat/use honey is in peanut butter sandwiches.

  19. 19

    Ellen — November 10, 2010 @ 3:46 pm

    i really love to use honey in cooking. i very frequently use it in marinades for chicken (honey, dijon mustard, lemon juice, salt and pepper is the easiest marinade and so tasty), in salad dressings, in tea, or on plain yogurt. it’s great!

  20. 20

    Ellen — November 10, 2010 @ 3:48 pm

    i’m following you both on twitter @ellen1214

  21. 21

    Barbara @ moderncomfortfood — November 10, 2010 @ 4:16 pm

    Nice recipes, Winnie! My favorite use for honey is for the two loaves of whole wheat bread I make every week. And I ALWAYS use the best honey I know: wild tupelo honey, a Southern delicacy and a specialty of my farmer grandparents’ sleepy home village of Wewahitchka, FL.

  22. 22

    Evan Thomas — November 10, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

    I love to use honey to add flavor to dips like a sweet mustard dip.

  23. 23

    ClassicKitchenTwist — November 10, 2010 @ 4:35 pm

    I love honey in everything from sweet to savory. I also use buckwheat honey as a natural cough suppressant – works better than otc cough syrup!

  24. 24

    Kristen — November 10, 2010 @ 11:25 pm

    I love honey with some ricotta cheese or with some cream cheese on toast. The balsamic honey sounds tasty!

  25. 25

    Monet — November 10, 2010 @ 11:54 pm

    I love baking with honey…or adding it to marinades for chicken. Your roasted chicken looks out of this world! I just finished a big plate of food, and I’m still drooling! Thank you for sharing. I hope your day is full of a lot laughter and joy!

  26. 26

    Janie Bryant — November 11, 2010 @ 5:44 am

    I use honey, glycerin and aloe as a face moisturizer. Makes my skin so soft! Also use honey in place of sugar in muffins and breads.

  27. 27

    Chris — November 11, 2010 @ 9:10 am

    This is a fantastic post! Excellent recipes, simple and clear instructions, and the photography is gorgeous–can all but taste that juicy brown chicken leg!

    Favorite use of honey is mash a spoonful into an avocado with the back of a fork then spread on toast—an amazingly sophisticated flavor. Also great piled thick on a sandwich—like leftover baked chicken, red onion, (bacon!,) and wispy bean sprout sandwich.

  28. 28

    Lizzy — November 11, 2010 @ 11:54 am

    Chicken..wow its one item I cannot resist…I think roast chicken and breast is what I love the most…

  29. 29

    Cecilia — November 12, 2010 @ 8:50 am

    Love to use honey to make honey butter, and also to make my own honey-mustard dressing! These products look fabulous!

  30. 30

    Cecilia — November 12, 2010 @ 8:51 am

    Following you and kitchenplay on twitter!

  31. 31

    susitravl — November 12, 2010 @ 12:56 pm

    I tried for years to figure out my grandma’s secret ingredient to her fabulous Waldorf Salad. It is honey!
    susitravl(at)gmail(dot)com

  32. 32

    susitravl — November 12, 2010 @ 12:56 pm

    Like you & Kitchen Play on FB (SusanBenegas)
    susitravl(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. 33

    Kristina @ spabettie — November 12, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

    I like Kitchen Play AND Healthy Green Kitchen on facebook – by both Kristina Sloggett AND my spabettie fb page ! :D

  34. 34

    StephanieP — November 12, 2010 @ 7:23 pm

    I love Honey Ridge! Love using their creamed honey on toast. Also discovered it’s great to add to chicken & veggie bakes for subtly sweet finish!

  35. 35

    Lynn — November 13, 2010 @ 1:28 am

    Honey in tea- simple. Close your eyes and smell the taste, envision the bees!

  36. 36

    Kate — November 13, 2010 @ 10:17 am

    In the summer, I love to grill peaches, top them with vanilla ice cream and drizzle with honey. Delicious!

  37. 37

    Chicken Salad with Persimmon, Pecans, and Thyme | Healthy Green Kitchen — November 14, 2010 @ 8:24 am

    [...] currently hosting a giveaway for some great products from Honey Ridge Farms. Please see this post for details, and make sure to enter before midnight on [...]

  38. 38

    Emily R — November 14, 2010 @ 8:48 am

    I love honey and use it hundreds of ways, from sweetening my tea, to glazing a ham, to making honey ice cream. My current favorite is basswood honey, I love that it has hints of citrus and mint.

  39. 39

    Emily R — November 14, 2010 @ 8:51 am

    I “Liked” you both on Facebook.

  40. 40

    Emily R — November 14, 2010 @ 8:52 am

    I already follow you both on twitter.

  41. 41

    Jean Layton — November 14, 2010 @ 9:31 am

    I use honey for all my sweetening needs when ever possible. Biggest current use is in my gluten free sourdough apple cinnamon rolls.

  42. 42

    Jean Layton — November 14, 2010 @ 9:34 am

    Just followed KitchenPlay

  43. 43

    Jean Layton — November 14, 2010 @ 9:36 am

    Just Liked kitchen play’s facebook page

  44. 44

    Stephanei — November 14, 2010 @ 9:07 pm

    I love honey too! In a lot of things, but in tea in particular.

  45. 45

    Stephanei — November 14, 2010 @ 9:08 pm

    I liked Kitchen Play on FB

  46. 46

    Stephanei — November 14, 2010 @ 9:08 pm

    I followed KitchenPlay and you on Twitter

  47. 47

    Janice — November 14, 2010 @ 10:53 pm

    I like to add honey in a homemade fruit juice/smoothie blend

  48. 48

    Cheryl Casperson — November 15, 2010 @ 11:27 am

    I love to use honey as a sweetener subsitute and in yogurt!!\

  49. 49

    david — November 15, 2010 @ 4:04 pm

    I sure love honey and so your post. Keep up the good work. Kudos!

  50. 50

    Nutmeg Nanny — November 15, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

    I’m sad I missed the giveaway but I wanted to comment on how delicious this chicken looks…yum!

  51. 51

    David — November 19, 2010 @ 8:07 am

    When i used the glazed roast chicken recipes with my wife….she was ecstatic! Always wanted me to cook her something.

  52. 52

    Healthy Green Kitchen offers recipes and HRF product giveaway « Honey Ridge Farms Blog — November 19, 2010 @ 2:42 pm

    [...] way to use honey in the kitchen .  Visit the blog post for the recipes and giveaway details: http://www.healthygreenkitchen.com/honey-ridge-farms-pampered-pantry-review-recipes-and-giveaway-2.html. The [...]

  53. 53

    Kitchen Play » Blog Archive » Honey Ridge Farms — November 29, 2010 @ 12:47 pm

    [...] from Healthy Green Kitchen takes a selection of Honey Ridge Farms gourmet products for a spin in her [...]

  54. 54

    Lyla Cosico — April 25, 2013 @ 7:19 pm

    Dessert is the usually sweet course that concludes a meal. The food that composes the dessert course includes but is not limited to sweet foods. There is a wide variety of desserts in western cultures now including cakes, cookies, biscuits, gelatins, pastries, ice creams, pies, pudding, and candies. Fruit is also commonly found in dessert courses because of its natural sweetness.-:

    Have a look at our own blog site as well
    <a href="http://www.caramoanpackage.com/caramoan-package/