I’m not much of a coffee drinker, but when I do have the occasional (fair-trade, organic) cup, I take it quite light and sweet. I usually add raw cream and organic sugar…I like it to taste like a treat.

Coffee-Mate non-dairy creamer is not something I’ve ever purchased, but when the opportunity to review Coffee Mate’s new “Natural Bliss” line came up, I was game to give it a try.

If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know that I make a lot of efforts to do things as naturally as possible in my own life. I keep an organic garden, backyard chickens, and honeybees. I buy raw milk from a local farm. I use homemade green cleaning products. I compost. I line dry my clothes, when possible. I’m also trying to get into making more of my own all-natural beauty products…it’s something I really enjoy doing, plus it’s eco-friendly and saves money.

I try not to buy too many packaged food items because I aim to keep household waste to a minimum, but I very much appreciate Coffee-Mate’s effort to create a healthier, more natural product. Natural Bliss is not organic, but it does not contain artificial ingredients (it is made with real dairy and real sugar). My husband and I both tried the vanilla flavor and really enjoyed it in our coffee.

I also gave it a try in my tea and felt the same…it’s tasty.

So how about you…do you use coffee-mate in your coffee? I highly recommend you try Natural Bliss if you do. And while you’re at it, what about looking at other things in your life you could do more naturally? How about giving up soda? Or packaged snack foods? Or switching to green cleaners/cosmetics? What natural choice have you made or will you make soon that you’re excited about? I would love to know ;)

Brand Statement:

Now you can enhance the coffee flavor you love with Coffee-mate Natural Bliss, a new all-natural dairy creamer made with only milk, cream, a touch of sugar and pure natural flavor. Flavors like sweet cream, vanilla and caramel add just the right touch of sweetness and delicious flavor for your perfect cup every time. Like us on Facebook for offers, news and more!

Disclosure of compensation:

Compensation was provided by COFFEE-MATE via Glam Media. The opinions expressed herein are those of the author and are not indicative of the opinions or positions of COFFEE-MATE.

 

35 Comments

  1. 1

    Jessica / Green Skies and Sugar Trips — September 6, 2011 @ 9:30 am

    This is quite helpful Winnie. I am often (ok always) skeptical of “coffee creamers” because so often they contain very little actual dairy, and mostly chemicals, so avoid using them. But after reading this, I think I will give this a try. I do like “vanilla coffee” so this might be a nice treat for me :-) Thank you Winnie!

    • Winnie replied: — September 6th, 2011 @ 10:36 am

      I am glad you found this helpful!

  2. 2

    Errom — September 6, 2011 @ 9:40 am

    You and I live a similar life. Garden, chickens, pigs, and turkeys here! All raised (non-certified) organically for our family. Most of our food is made from scratch, and we buy few processed foods. However, I love coffee (fair trade organic too), I live coffee, I must have coffee, I drink it light too. However I love coffee-mate powder (!) over cream. I struggle with knowing it’s such a highly processed non-food food item. What is the point of organic fair trade if you are going to spoil it with…well coffee-mate? I may try this and see how it is, I mean I can only go up from here right?

    • Winnie replied: — September 6th, 2011 @ 10:38 am

      Everyone’s got their vices, and I think a lot of people, even those who eat a natural foods diet, enjoy coffee-mate! Give Natural Bliss a try and let me know what you think…if you click on the CM icon in the post, it takes you to a page where you can download a coupon :)

  3. 3

    Kristen — September 6, 2011 @ 2:47 pm

    I had the opportunity to try out the Natural Bliss line as well and really enjoyed it. My favorite was the sweet cream flavor. Love your picture of the coffee cup!

    • Winnie replied: — September 6th, 2011 @ 4:35 pm

      Thanks Kristen! I think I put way more than the suggested serving size in my coffee, though…hard to keep it to 1 tablespoon, don’t you think?!

  4. 4

    gia — September 6, 2011 @ 2:59 pm

    that’s a good thing! I read on one of their mainstream bottles that it was lactose free, and I thought how terrible- it’s a friggin creamer- it was all high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils!!!!!! And that is the reason Americans are obese. So…. I am glad to see this and feel it is long overdue. Now I would like to see them do away with the other fake creamer completely.

    • Winnie replied: — September 6th, 2011 @ 4:35 pm

      Agreed :)

  5. 5

    Kimmy @ Lighter and Local — September 6, 2011 @ 3:03 pm

    Honestly – I’m so glad you took a look at this product. I love my local and natural foods, but I miss creamers like these in my coffees. I did almond milk for a while, and didn’t love it, now I’m back with skim milk, and I still feel like something is missing! I may just have to try this out!

    • Winnie replied: — September 6th, 2011 @ 4:39 pm

      I really appreciate your comment Kimmy. There was a time not too long ago when I would have said no to doing a sponsored post like this. But I thought about it, and figured that since a lot of people use creamers, why not see if there is a better alternative to the non-dairy ones? Is this one perfect health-wise? No. But I think it’s a very much a step in the right direction.

  6. 6

    MikeVFMK — September 6, 2011 @ 5:47 pm

    Winnnie, I’ve never tried a coffee mate or creamer. I just use milk. But after seeing this on Kristen’s blog and now yours, well, I’m tempted to give it a shot. Plus, that pic of the lone coffee cup and saucer sure looks inviting (and gorgeous!)

  7. 7

    Nutmeg Nanny — September 6, 2011 @ 8:10 pm

    To be honest, this doesn’t sound that bad. I usually hate creamer because it always tastes weird. I would totally give this a try :)

  8. 8

    The Waspy Redhead — September 6, 2011 @ 11:28 pm

    Thank you for this product review. I have fallen into a terrible pattern of drinking coffee from our break room at work every weekday. I use splenda and original coffeemate liquid (the kind in the lil cups). I’m kind of horrified that I’m starting my day with all that nasty chemicalness each day. I might pick some of this up and keep it in the mini fridge at my desk. We ran out of sweetener last week, so I’ve been making my coffee with “creamer” only. Is this sweet enough to mayhaps skip sweetener outright? I’m getting used to less sweet coffee.

  9. 9

    Elizabeth — September 7, 2011 @ 7:19 am

    I actually wanted to buy this the other day, but it was sold out. Must be good or at least people’s interest is piqued. We like to have creamer at the office and no one likes powdered and milk can water down the beverage too much for those of us that like our coffee really light. I will check again for it. I have high hopes this will please all.

  10. 10

    GunnerJohn — April 14, 2012 @ 10:54 am

    I was good with this article until I read that this product is not organic and that the author was compensated. Not a very unbiased opinion. Additionally I still have not seen an ingredients list on this product. Does it contain any partially hydrogenated oil products?

    • Winnie replied: — May 7th, 2012 @ 9:25 am

      GunnerJohn: you’re right. Not unbiased. I appreciate your taking the time to let me know your feelings on “reviews” like this.

  11. 11

    Kate — May 7, 2012 @ 7:36 am

    If it’s just cream, milk, sugar and vanilla, why wouldn’t you just use those ingredients? Can the price be worth the convenience?

    • Winnie replied: — May 7th, 2012 @ 9:23 am

      Good question Kate. And no- I wouldn’t buy it unless you are a coffee mate user and are interested in having an option that’s a somewhat healthier.

  12. 12

    Luke C — May 7, 2012 @ 12:08 pm

    I agree on both counts: skepticism of Coffee-mate, enjoyment of Natural Bliss. The inclusion of “natural flavors” is the only unknown but those are by and large less hazardous than many identified ingredients. I used to drink Silk creamer by the quart until I learned that it was heavily processed and suspect (not to mention owned by agro-corp Dean Foods). Here’s hoping that Natural Bliss is in fact natural and widely available!

    • Winnie replied: — May 7th, 2012 @ 1:07 pm

      What a thoughtful comment. Good call re: Silk creamer…at this point I am personally back to real raw cream and organic sugar in my coffee, when I drink it. Far better than any of these products as far as I am concerned, but everyone needs to do what feels right to them :)

  13. 13

    M — May 14, 2012 @ 4:55 pm

    What utter hypocrisy! Okay, you get 1 credit for the disclaimer admitting you were paid to say good things about this crap but, seriously, the damage that this stuff does long term in so many ways is immeasurable? And why?? Just buy milk or half-n-half and put a drop of vanilla in it, for pity’s sake. Is that so hard?

    • Winnie replied: — May 14th, 2012 @ 6:59 pm

      No need to get all worked up. I was paid to try the product and give my opinion. That’s all…nothing more.

  14. 14

    Jenny — May 18, 2012 @ 11:19 am

    Thanks for the article. I was interested iin trying this new line of Coffee-mate products but, unfortunately the Natural Bliss sounds like it won’t work for me because I’m very lactose-intollerant. So to those who say ‘get rid of the “fake” stuff”….no, please don’t….it’s the only option I have to make my cup of coffee taste at least somewhat like coffee w/cream! I’ve tried going the ‘soy or almond milk’ route and just can’t acquire a taste for either of them.

  15. 15

    Missy — January 12, 2013 @ 8:34 pm

    Thanks for doing a review on this. I have passed this product several times times at my local stop n Shop trying to convince myself to try it. I keep backing away and toying with the idea in my mind about how it will taste. Since I haven’t had creamers in a long time this might be a good reintroduction. Thanks for the picture too. Lovely cup

    • Winnie replied: — January 13th, 2013 @ 6:41 pm

      I think it’s a good alternative to the other creamers that are available, but I’ve personally gone back to real organic cream and organic sugar myself :)

  16. 16

    MJ — February 2, 2013 @ 10:23 pm

    I NEVER drink coffee w/o flavored creamer but I have an actual dairy ALLERGY, so I won’t be able to try this because is contains dairy :/

  17. 17

    Katie — February 25, 2013 @ 10:56 am

    I made the switch last year from artificial ‘creamers’ to either stevia/skim milk or stevia/natural bliss. It really does have that creamy sweet flavor you expect from the stuff in a bottle, but I’m much more comfortable with the ingredients list.

    I’m concerned, of course, about the ‘natural flavor’ it contains. I’ve been attempting to research what that flavor actually is to no avail. I’ve read some scary things about what you can legally call ‘natural flavor’ on your label!

  18. 18

    Jamie — May 25, 2013 @ 11:04 am

    I’m actually about to post my own blog post concerning this product this morning and came across this page. I too bought it recently because of the short ingredient list and seemed like a ‘better’ choice. I woke up this morning wondering what “natural flavoring” was. I don’t like what I am reading! I don’t believe it is what they say otherwise why wouldn’t they just put that it was created with sweet cream, or vanilla, or what ever they claim is their natural flavoring?

  19. 19

    Janet — July 12, 2013 @ 10:56 am

    This sounded more like an advertisement than a review. If you are truly all organic or try to be, then I would think it would have been better to break down the term ‘natural flavors’. These phrases are where manufacturers hide interesting ingredients like palmitate. ALL processed milk has this in it and I suggest you look it up and see the effects of this. Raw milk would not have it but it is needed as a binder for the Vitamin A. You will also find it in your favorite paint and next Round Up treatment in your flower beds. A review to me will break it all down especially chemicals that are known to be harmful. I have tried this, it is good tasting you are right about that.

  20. 20

    Craig — July 29, 2013 @ 2:16 pm

    NB is delicious, I too am mainly organic, but this product from Coffee Mate seemed to fit a bill that I could not find elsewhere and the price is right. I’ve drank this in my coffee just about everyday since it came out. Thanks for the review.

  21. 21

    Zencookie — January 15, 2014 @ 11:29 am

    Would it be safer just to use cream, a dash of vanilla, and your choice of sweetener? Possibly. But you buy this for the convenience of a consistent ready-to-go out of the fridge product.

    This was a sponsored review (a girls gotta eat!) but the author clearly gave her honest opinion on the product, that’s not “selling out”. That’s business. She didn’t compromise her moral integrity nor was she deceitful in any way to her readers.

    Regrettably not organic, but if you’re going to buy commercial coffee creamer this is easily a much more benign option than flavored hydrogenated soybean oil.

    Thanks for the review Winnie!

  22. 22

    piercing smykker — January 16, 2014 @ 4:28 am

    Stopping this round with a armor in its normal configuration usually
    requires explosive armor usually found on tanks or heavy
    armored military vehicles, which is only good for one shot.
    One complication of a broadly worded charging order, is the “exclusive remedy” benefit (detriment)
    of the charging order. The gun was perfect for someone to walk up on a German or Japanese soldier and execute them with a
    round through the head.

  23. 23

    Amber — January 21, 2014 @ 9:49 am

    So does the sweet cream contain carrageenan? Ingredients say sweet cream…..most sweet cream contain carrageenan. Woukd it say it if it has that? That is my only question. Thanks!

  24. 24

    Barbara — January 27, 2014 @ 9:38 am

    Amber………….IMO, this product does contain carrageenan. I say that because the second ingredient is heavy cream…………..find any cream that doesn’t have carrageenan in it.or even half n halve’s………………there are a few of course….Organic Valley pasteurized not Ultra and Nature to Nature…….there are a couple more…………..i’m pretty sure this has it in it. Wonder how we can find out……………..and I’m really curious as to what exactly the infamous natural flavor is……………

  25. 25

    pest Control york — February 12, 2014 @ 5:13 am

    Once a bird has moved it, it can be very difficult to get rid of them.
    But you can also produce mosquito repellant lotions so repell mosquitoes which are in abundance in
    the rainy season. The guineas are reasonably well-behaved in a garden while chickens are often
    destructive to the flower beds and garden.